S.S. America 1978
Page 3: bankruptcy of Venture Cruise Lines and forced auction
After deleting all scheduled cruises was announced to invest half a million in the remove the sewage, sanitation and hygiene problems. Venture Cruise Lines made for the problems with the sewage system including the low to harbor responsible, allegedly had not given them water depth, causing the ship to have sucked mud that clogged the pipes.
These costs, however, now came a series of penalties, among other things because of unauthorized exposure of passengers from Staten Iceland and not carried out search and rescue exercises, also in six figures.
In this situation, there was a strike of the crew members, some of whom have not been paid and did not wish to wait for their outstanding wages, which prevented the much-needed repair work. In addition, repayments were now due, which had been promised the terrified passengers.
The WIL died out almost 2 million account of the company that was responsible for the catering on board and providing all the cooks and waiters.
Abandoned and shattered by critics, America lingers at her pier.
-Picture: Sea Classics/ Hugh Heckman-
The Venture Cruise Lines consortium was with his financial ability at the end.
Thereupon the court set America and the insolvent venture Cruise Lines had to declare bankruptcy.
Was it the worst the crew, many of whose members came from the Caribbean (including Jamaica). They were recruited by the venture cruise line and had to pay themselves for their arrival. For some, a sum that consumed a large part of their savings. Arrived in New York they were used for activities for which they were not trained and educated and were underpaid or not paid at all. After the strike and bankruptcy of the venture cruise lines they stood there without anything. Maritime trade unions had to step in to raise money for their trip home and ongoing expenses to alleviate the suffering.

On 28 August, the ship then foreclosed on a public auction in order to recover a portion of the outstanding money. Clearly a low point in the long career of America:
Next chapter: S.S. Italis -->
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Content


S.S. America 1978

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

S.S. America 1978
Seite 3: Bankrott der Venture Cruise Lines und Zwangsversteigerung
Nach der Streichung sämtlicher geplanter Kreuzfahrten wurde verkündet, eine halbe Million in das beseitigen der Abwasser-, Sanitär- und Hygieneprobleme zu investieren. Venture Cruise Lines machte für die Probleme mit dem Abwassersystem unter anderem das zu niedrige Hafenbecken verantwortlich, das angeblich nicht die ihnen angegebene Wassertiefe hatte, wodurch das Schiff Schlamm angesaugt haben soll, der die Rohre verstopfte.
Zu diesen Unkosten kamen jetzt allerdings auch eine Reihe von Konventionalstrafen, unter anderem wegen des ungenehmigten Aussetzens der Passagiere vor Staten Island und nicht durchgeführten Seenotrettungsübungen, ebenfalls in sechsstelliger Höhe.
In dieser Situation kam es noch zu einem Streik der Crewmitglieder, von denen einige nicht bezahlt wurden und nicht weiter auf ihren ausstehenden Lohn warten wollten, was die dringend notwendigen Reparaturarbeiten verhinderte. Zusätzlich wurden nun Rückzahlungen fällig, die den entsetzten Passagieren versprochen worden waren.
Den entgültigen Todesstoß versetzte eine fast 2 Millionen Rechnung der Firma, die für das Catering an Bord und dem Bereitstellen sämtlicher Köche und Kellner verantwortlich war.

Die verlassene und von Kritik vernichtete America aufgelegt an ihrem Pier.
-Bild: Sea Classics/ Hugh Heckman-
Das Venture Cruise Lines Konsortium war mit seinen finanziellen Möglichkeiten am Ende.
Daraufhin wurde die America gerichtlich festgesetzt und die zahlungsunfähige Venture Cruise Lines musste sich für Bankrott erklären.
Am schlimmsten Traf es die Crew, von der viele Mitglieder aus dem karibischen Raum kamen (u.a. Jamaika). Sie wurden von der Venture Cruise Line angeworben und mussten für ihre Anreise selbst aufkommen. Für einige eine Summe, die einen Großteil ihrer Ersparnisse ausmachte. In New York angekommen wurden sie für Tätigkeiten eingesetzt, für die sie nicht trainiert und ausgebildet waren und wurden unterbezahlt bzw. gar nicht bezahlt. Nach dem Streik und dem Bankrott der Venture Cruise Lines standen sie ohne alles da. Maritime Gewerkschaftsverbände mussten einspringen, um das Geld für ihre Heimreise und laufende Unkosten aufzubringen, um die Not zu lindern.

Am 28. August wurde das Schiff dann auf einer öffentlichen Auktion zwangsversteigert, um einen Teil des ausstehenden Geldes einzutreiben. Eindeutig ein Tiefpunkt in der langen Karriere der America:

Inhalt


S.S. America 1978

Weiter zur Story der S.S. Italis -->
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: