S.S. America 1978
Page 2: America reloaded- The Disaster of New York
On the day of the beginning of the first cruise (a 2 day trip on the Atlantic off New York), the ship was also more than anything else a greater site. Many lounges were closed because they were being renovated and the same was true for many cars. Both pools were empty and the cinema is not functional. In the corridors there were piles of garbage and the ship was pervaded by an unpleasant odor, which the still unresolved problems with the drainage system brought with them.
For many additional passengers were still drawn to the part with last minute offers, or had booked and were not on the passenger lists and were added to the 600 the official passenger list, there was no available cabins through these problems. Nevertheless, we all took on board and promised to solve the housing problem, once the ship had taken.
After dropping more than 900 passengers on board was dissolved there are more bad than good by ready made ??or unfinished unrenovated cabins for accommodation. Sometimes even without linen, which was then submitted later boxed pressed for time. The resentment of many passengers was great, not only because of unfinished renovation.
There have been complaints about cockroaches, rats sighted, flooded cabins, no working toilets, leaky faucets, lumpy mattresses and dirty linen. There were also communication problems with the crew, many of whom had only a rudimentary knowledge of English, which led to further confusion.
After a few hours then the mood changed permanently. There were scuffles and "we want our money back '- calls that ended in a kind of mutiny of protest to the captain's cabin and forced six hours at sea to turn the ship. Since no suitable anchorage in New York was available to read the part of disgruntled passengers (about 250) with Staten Iceland lifeboats before the cruise ship and sat with the remaining proceeds. The complaints did not break off, it was criticized, among other things, that the food was bad, there was lack of hygiene and the untrained crew would have considerable organizational problems at many things.
America anchoring of Staten Island.
Back in New York was the America of numerous journalists received that had been aroused by the reports of the previous day exposed passengers. Many of the disgruntled passengers took the opportunity to tell reporters their view of things, which led to a flood of negative articles in the local newspapers.
The alerted health authorities conducted a hygiene inspection on board the vessel. Out of a possible 100 points which reached America in the inspection only 32, with 86 points were considered diarrheal border. Was criticized in addition to the known issues and the general condition of the nearly 40-year-old ship.
But the health authority had no jurisdiction over the ship, since it was registered in Panama and thus not under the control of the U.S. health authorities.
Instead of following this disaster to pull the emergency brake and remove the problems thoroughly, it started on 3 July schedule the second cruise, a 5 day trip with destination Halifax stop on Martha's Vineyard, this time with only around 640 passengers on board.
The overbooking was so off as a problem, but was replaced by a new addition to the already mentioned condition of the vessel: bad weather. The route of the cruise led directly by a severe storm front. Due to rough seas, high winds and caused thereby rolling the America many passengers were seasick. Exactly in this plight failed the troubled sewer system again extensively in many parts of the ship and had toilets overflowing or clogged. In addition, the strong waves brought pipe systems for bursting and non-secure portholes were smashed.
The stopover on Martha's Vineyard had to be deleted because the weather conditions did not allow a landing of passengers.
The America was fighting continued, stamping and rolling in heavy seas to Halifax through. There again broke some of the passengers who were either dissatisfied or seasickness, the cruise off and flew back to the U.S..

After that was America arrived back in New York, the health authority led once again by checking to see how the situation represented on board. The result was even more devastating than the previous one. This time the ship reached only 6 out of a possible 100 points, the lowest value ever awarded. In addition to catastrophic hygienic conditions in food preparation, it was found that the water tanks were contaminated with diarrhea-causing bacteria.

Venture Cruise Lines was no other choice than to put the ship out of service and to try to solve the problems due to this outrageous results, increasing the image and damage to public pressure. This realization came too late to turn the helm and financial ruin began.
Angry passengers were lowered in lifeboats of Staten Island since all available piers in Manhattan were in use.
-Picture: Steamboat Bill -
America on her pier.
-Bild: Sea Classics-
Passengers disembark the ship after the second cruise in New York with "s.s. America" t-shirts, some show thumbs up, some show thumbs down.
Logo and America- lettering of Venture Cruise Lines.
Page 3: bankruptcy and forced auction -->
America in Hudson River.
-Bild: Venture Cruise Lines poster-
America passes under Verrazano Narrows Bridge on her second cruise.
America on her pier.
-Picture: Sea Classics-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Content


S.S. America 1978

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

S.S. America 1978
Seite 2: America reloaded- Das Desaster von New York
Am Tag des Beginns der ersten Kreuzfahrt (eine 2 Tages Tour auf dem Atlantik vor New York), war das Schiff dann auch mehr als alles andere eine Großraumbaustelle. Viele Aufenthaltsräume waren geschlossen, da sie noch renoviert wurden und gleiches galt für zahlreiche Kabinen. Beide Swimmingpools waren leer und das Kino nicht funktionsbereit. Auf den Korridoren fanden sich Müllhaufen und das Schiff wurde von einem unangenehmen Geruch durchzogen, den die nach wie vor nicht gelösten Probleme mit dem Abwassersystem mit sich brachten.
Für viele zusätzliche Passagiere, die zum Teil noch mit last minute Angeboten gelockt wurden, oder gebucht hatten und nicht auf den Passagierlisten standen und zu den 600 der offiziellen Passagierliste hinzukamen, gab es durch diese Probleme keine verfügbaren Kabinen. Trotzdem nahm man alle an Bord und versprach das Unterbringungsproblem zu lösen, sobald das Schiff abgelegt hatte.
Nach dem Ablegen mit über 900 Passagieren an Bord löste man es mehr schlecht als recht, indem man unrenovierte oder unfertige Kabinen zur Unterbringung bereitstellte. Teils sogar ohne Bettwäsche, die dann noch in Zeitnot originalverpackt nachgereicht wurde. Der Unmut vieler Passagiere war groß, nicht nur aufgrund des unfertigen Umbaus.
Es gab Beschwerden über Kakerlaken, gesichtete Ratten, überflutete Kabinen, nicht funktionierende Toiletten, undichte Wasserhähne, durchgelegene Matratzen und dreckige Bettwäsche. Zudem gab es Verständigungsprobleme mit der Besatzung, von denen viele nur rudimentäre Englischkenntnisse hatten, was zu weiteren Missverständnissen führte.
Nach einigen Stunden kippte die Stimmung dann endgültig. Es gab Handgreiflichkeiten und "we want our money back"- Rufe, die in einer Art Meuterei mit Protestzug zur Kabine des Kapitäns endeten und das Schiff nach sechs Stunden auf See zum umkehren zwangen. Da kein geeigneter Ankerplatz in New York verfügbar war, lies man den verärgerten Teil der Passagiere (ungefähr 250) mit Rettungsbooten vor Staten Island von Bord und setzte die Kreuzfahrt mit den verbliebenen fort. Die Beschwerden rissen nicht ab, so wurde unter anderem bemängelt, dass das Essen schlecht sei, es Hygienemängel gäbe und die untrainierte Crew bei vielem erhebliche Organisationsprobleme hätte.

Die America ankert vor Staten Island.
Zurück in New York wurde die America von zahlreichen Journalisten empfangen, die durch die Berichte der Tags zuvor ausgesetzten Passagiere hellhörig geworden waren. Viele der unzufriedenen Passagiere nutzten die Gelegenheit, um den Reportern ihre Sicht der Dinge mitzuteilen, was zu einer negativ- Artikelflut in den lokalen Zeitungen führte.
Die alarmierte Gesundheitsbehörde führte eine Hygieneinspektion an Bord des Schiffes durch. Von möglichen 100 Punkten erreichte die America bei der Inspektion lediglich 32, wobei 86 Punkte als Durchfallgrenze galten. Bemängelt wurde neben den bekannten Problemen auch der generelle Zustand des fast 40 Jahre alten Schiffes.
Der Gesundheitsbehörde waren aber die Hände gebunden das Schiff festzusetzen, da es in Panama registriert war und so nicht unter der Verfügungsgewalt der US-Gesundheitsbehörde stand.

Anstatt nach diesem Desaster die Notbremse zu ziehen und die Probleme gründlich zu beseitigen, startete man am 3. Juli planmäßig die zweite Kreuzfahrt, einen 5 Tages Trip mit Ziel Halifax und Zwischenstop auf Martha's Vineyard, diesmal mit nur rund 640 Passagieren an Bord.
Die Überbuchung fiel so als Problem weg, wurde aber neben dem schon erwähnten Zustand des Schiffes von einem neuen abgelöst: schlechtes Wetter. Die Route der Kreuzfahrt führte direkt durch eine schwere Sturmfront. Durch starken Seegang , hohe Windstärken und dadurch verursachtes Rollen der America wurden viele Passagiere Seekrank. Genau in dieser Notlage versagte das angeschlagene Abwassersystem erneut umfassend in vielen Teilen des Schiffes und ließ Toiletten überlaufen oder verstopfen. Zudem brachte der starke Seegang Rohrsysteme zum bersten und nicht gesicherte Bullaugen wurden zerschmettert.
Der Zwischenstop auf Martha's Vineyard musste gestrichen werden, da die Wetterverhältnisse ein Anlanden der Passagiere nicht erlaubten.
Die America kämpfte sich weiter, stampfend und rollend in schwerer See nach Halifax durch. Dort brachen wieder einige der Passagiere, die entweder Seekrank oder unzufrieden waren, die Kreuzfahrt ab und flogen zurück in die USA.

Nach dem die America wieder in New York eingetroffen war, führte die Gesundheitsbehörde abermals eine Kontrolle durch, um zu überprüfen, wie sich die Situation an Bord darstellte. Das Ergebnis fiel noch verheerender aus als das vorherige. Dieses mal erreichte das Schiff nur noch 6 von möglichen 100 Punkten, der niedrigste Wert der jemals vergeben wurde. Neben katastrophalen hygienischen Zuständen bei der Essenszubereitung wurde festgestellt, dass die Trinkwassertanks mit durchfallverursachenden Bakterien kontaminiert waren.

Venture Cruise Lines blieb aufgrund dieser skandalösen Ergebnisse, des immer größeren Imageschadens und des öffentlichen Drucks gar nichts anderes übrig, als das Schiff außer Dienst zu stellen und sich um die Lösung der Probleme zu bemühen. Diese Einsicht kam allerdings zu spät um das Ruder noch einmal rumzureißen und der finanzielle Ruin nahm seinen Lauf.

Verärgerte Passagiere werden mit Rettungsbooten vor Staten Island von Bord gelassen, da in Manhatten keine Anlegestelle frei war.
-Bild: Steamboat Bill -
America an ihrem Pier.
-Bild: Sea Classics-
Passagiere gehen nach der zweiten Kreuzfahrt in New York mit "s.s. America" T-Shirts von Bord, einige mit Daumen nach unten, andere mit Daumen nach oben.
Logo und America- Schriftzug der Venture Cruise Lines.
Inhalt


S.S. America 1978

Weiter zu Teil 3: Bankrott und Zwangsversteigerung -->
Die America im Hudson River.
-Bild: Venture Cruise Lines Plakat-
America passiert die Verrazano Narrows Bridge auf ihrer zweiten Kreuzfahrt.
America an ihrem Pier.
-Bild: Sea Classics-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: