S.S. America 1978
The relaunch of the America-what was planned as a lighthearted short cruises with feel-good factor at low prices, ended in a total disaster. Bad planning, profit maximization at the expense of crew, passengers, safety, hygiene, and the ship in general, unfortunate concatenation and utopian schedules given the brief return of America to her old home port of New York ..
What remained at the end, was the unflattering, but unfortunately apt nickname "cockroaches ship" for the once proud liner.
Page 1: refurbishment and concept
Content


1978 Australis was buyed by a consortium of several companies which took the name American Cruise Line, for U.S. $ 6.5 million.
A short time later, the newly created company was renamed because of trademark dispute in "Venture Cruise Lines of New York". From her lay up in New Zealand, Timaru, it was for the old liner 23 April, on the Pacific through the Panama Canal to New York.

They called the Australis again in America in order to benefit from the luster of her early career advertising benefits and gave her a new royal blue paint.
The concept of venture Cruise Lines put on short cruises off the east coast of North America, with home port of New York, which should at very low rates attract as many passengers to America as a floating entertainment center. The ship main destination with the then very popular "cruises to nowhere" - "cruises to nowhere" in the offer.
For this purpose, a casino should be retrofitted with armed bandits, blackjack, roulette tables and playing cards, rebuilt and modernized the cinema, as well as three modern discotheques be retrofitted with two bands ship. In addition, a modernization of the lounges and restaurants was sought.
Also, the cabins should have been renovated and some toilet-less be retrofitted with private sanitary facilities.
The following promotional brochure you can read again the advertised, very comprehensive offer at dumping prices, which was promised to the passengers. The brochure reads almost ironic when one compares the actual outcome with it:
America in Hudson River.
-Picture: postcard-
That's the theory of the advertising promises. The reality, however, America should soon catch up.

After months of resting in New Zealand and Chandris recent years that major investments were kept small because of cost pressures, the Australis was in need of renovation, which is actually not allowed to have paying passengers on board. But rather than on thorough preparations for the old lady for a new passenger transport, provided the venture Cruise Lines on a crazy schedule. In just six weeks after the ship arrived in New Zealand from New York, wanted to start the regular cruise operation.

Six weeks between 19 May and 30 June, when the first cruise was planned to maintain the ship in a dry dock to remove it again to modernize the machinery to refurbish the ship (because many furnishings were left with Chandris), a casino installed to remove and re-equip the cabins to replace the electrical wiring, and fix problems with the sewage system.
All this was then conducted to a large part of this unskilled labor, which included some students even to save costs. This also resulted in damage and partially painted over by careless brass window frames, aluminum handrails and safety-related systems and information panels.
Some projects, such as the renewal of machinery and electrics were unceremoniously postponed indefinitely.
Because of the time not remediable problems with the sewage system, the passenger capacity of 2200 to 600 had to be limited.
But rather to rethink the schedule in order to have more time for unsolved problems and complete remodeling and renovations, they put on full risk and misfortune took its course ...
S.S. America 1978

Page 2: The Disaster of New York -->
The makeshift refurbishment in three steps:

Step 1: America in drydock of Bayonne, New York.
Step 2: America at her pier after removing of Chandris and Australis logos and lettering. The hull was partially scraped to prepare it for the new paint.
Step 3: America looks like new, but only from outside.
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

S.S. America 1978
Der Relaunch der America- was als unbeschwerte Kurzkreuzfahrten mit Wohlfühlfaktor zu niedrigen Preisen geplant war, endete in einer totalen Katastrophe. Fehlplanungen, Gewinnmaximierung auf kosten der Besatzung, Passagiere, Sicherheit, Hygiene und des Schiffes im allgemeinen, unglückliche Verkettungen und utopische Zeitpläne bestimmten die kurze Rückkehr der America in ihren alten Heimathafen New York..
Was am Ende blieb, war der wenig schmeichelhafte, aber leider treffende Spitzname "Kakerlakenschiff" für den einst stolzen Liner.

Seite 1: Umbau und Konzept
Inhalt


1978 wurde die Australis von einem aus mehreren Unternehmen bestehenden Konsortium, das sich den Namen American Cruise Line gab, für 6,5 Millionen* US$ erwoben.
Kurze Zeit später wurde die neu geschaffene Gesellschaft wegen eines Markennamenstreits in "Venture Cruise Lines of New York" umbenannt. Von ihrem Aufliegeplatz in Neuseeland, Timaru, ging es für den alten Liner am 23. April über den Pazifik durch den Panamakanal in Richtung New York.

Man benannte die Australis wieder in America um, um aus dem Glanz ihrer früheren Karriere Werbevorteile zu ziehen und gab ihr einen neuen, royalblauen Anstrich.
Das Konzept der Venture Cruise Lines setzte auf Kurzkreuzfahrten vor der Ostküste Nordamerikas, mit Heimathafen New York, die zu sehr niedrigen Konditionen möglichst viele Passagiere auf die America als schwimmendes Unterhaltungszentrum locken sollten. Das Schiff als Hauptreiseziel mit den damals sehr beliebten "cruises to nowhere"- "Kreuzfahrten nach nirgendwo" im Angebot.
Zu diesem Zweck sollte ein Kasino mit einarmigen Banditen, Blackjack, Roulettetischen und Kartenspielen nachgerüstet, das Kino umgebaut und modernisiert, sowie drei moderne Diskotheken mit zwei Schiffsbands nachgerüstet werden. Außerdem wurde eine Modernisierung der Aufenthaltsräume und Restaurants angestrebt.
Auch die Kabinen sollten renoviert und einige bisher WC-lose mit privaten Sanitäreinrichtungen nachgerüstet werden.
In der folgenden Werbebroschüre kann man noch einmal das angepriesene, sehr umfassende Angebot zu Dumpingpreisen nachlesen, welches den Passagieren versprochen wurde. Die Broschüre liest sich fast ironisch, wenn man den tatsächlichen Ablauf mit ihr abgleicht:

Die America im Hudson River.
-Bild: Postkarte-
Soweit die Theorie und die Werbeversprechen. Die Wirklichkeit sollte die America jedoch bald einholen.

Nach dem monatelangen Aufliegen in Neuseeland und den letzten Chandris Jahren, in denen größere Investitionen wegen Kostendrucks klein gehalten wurden, war die Australis in einem renovierungsbedürftigen Zustand, der es eigentlich nicht erlaubte, zahlenden Passagiere an Bord zu lassen. Anstatt aber auf gründliche Vorbereitungen der alten Lady für eine erneute Passagierbeförderung zu setzen, stellten die Venture Cruise Lines einen aberwitzigen Zeitplan auf. In nur sechs Wochen nachdem das Schiff aus Neuseeland in New York angekommen war, wollte man den regulären Kreuzfahrtbetrieb starten.

Sechs Wochen zwischen dem 19. Mai und dem 30.Juni, an dem die erste Kreuzfahrt geplant war, um das Schiff in einem Trockendock zu warten, es neu zu streichen, die Maschinen zu modernisieren, das Schiff neu einzurichten (da viele Einrichtungsgegenstände bei Chandris verblieben waren), ein Casino einzubauen, die Kabinen zu streichen und neu auszustatten, die elektrische Verkabelung zu erneuern, sowie Probleme mit dem Abwassersystem zu beheben.
Das alles wurde dann zu einem Grossteil von dafür unqualifizierten Arbeitskräften durchgeführt, zu denen teilweise sogar Studenten zählten, um Kosten zu sparen. Dadurch kam es auch zu Schäden und teilweise unachtsamen Übermalungen von Messingfenstereinfassungen, Aluminiumhandläufen und von sicherheitsrelevanten Systemen und Hinweistafeln.
Einige Projekte, wie etwa die Erneuerung der Maschinen und Elektrik, wurden kurzerhand auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben.
Wegen der nicht rechtzeitig behebbaren Probleme mit dem Abwassersystem, musste die Passagierkapazität von 2200 auf 600 begrenzt werden.
Anstatt aber den Zeitplan zu überdenken, um mehr Zeit für ungelöste Probleme zu haben und Umbau und Renovierungen abzuschließen, setzte man auf volles Risiko und das Unglück nahm seinen Lauf...
S.S. America 1978

Weiter zu Teil 2: Das Desaster von New York -->
Die Blitz- Überholung des Schiffes in drei Schritten.

Schritt 1: Die America im Trockendock von Bayonne, New York.
Schritt 2: Die America an ihrem Pier nach dem Entfernen der Chandris Logos und des Australis- Schriftzugs. Der Rumpf wurde teilweise abgeschliffen, um ihn für die neue Farbe vorzubereiten.
Schritt 3: Die fertige America sieht aus wie neu, allerdings nur von außen.
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: