U.S.S. West Point 1941-1946- The "Grey Ghost"
In the following years of the war began a dangerous and challenging time for the USS West Point, her crew and the transported soldiers, dominated especially in the first months of the war effort by emergency missions:

The first time in a combat zone, the ship arrived in early January 1942. The mentioned on the previous page of Basra to Bombay to Singapore redirected troop transport, which illustrates well the escalating situation in the Pacific, slowly approached to the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia) belongs island of Java. Japanese submarine activities have been reported for this area and so it was decided that the convoy in which the West Point was, to steer on a detour through a protective, yet also dangerous coral reef. The ships passed through the reef at 10 knots slow one behind the other. The situation in Singapore has now been more threatening. Thus, the convoy was split and the faster ships, including the West Point was, vorrausgeschickt to arrive faster in the East Asian metropolis and to reinforce the British troops fighting there. On entering West Point on 29 January, the naval port of the city was already under constant Japanese air attacks. So, they went and the other troop carrier and bombed out in the less protected by air defense civilian cargo port.
Just to hair width escaped the luxury liner repurposed its end a day later. As he lay anchored in the harbor, launched a Japanese air attack on the city. Some bombs were detonated in close proximity, however luckily missed the boat, so that only inflicting minor shrapnel damage. Lying in the harbor with a supply ship was not so lucky. It suffered a direct hit and sank immediately. The warehouses at the port were in flames. Because of the worsening situation an emergency plan for the evacuation of civilians from the city was established. The West Point took in haste over 1000 refugees on board, many of them women and children. That same evening, the West Point (ropes between ship and pier were hit with axes) fled along with the Wakefield under the protection of the falling darkness of the little later falling into Japanese hands town towards Batavia in Java. There were 31 January more refugees taken on board. Then under the escort of the British destroyer HMAS Vampire and two other escorts went to West Point and Wakefield in the direction of safe Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). In this passage, a baby was born on 4 February on board, the first in the long career of the ship.
Page 2: The West Point in service
From Australia, the West Point opened to San Francisco, where they 24 April arrived. The often spontaneous Nothilfsmissionen the first months ended for the ship with this trip. The overpowered by the attack on Pearl Harbor U.S. had now drawn up a strategy for fighting the Japanese in the West Point was involved in the further course.
The period from mid-1942 to mid-1944 as the ship spent mainly on missions in the Indian Ocean and the Pacific. The main task during this period was undoubtedly the transport of soldiers to their applications. But even ambulance services or the evacuation of people from endangered areas and transports prisoners of war (POWs The first large transport of West Point promoted in April 1943 parts of Rommel's Afrika Korps harvested from Suez to Australia) were among the activities.
Not only U.S. troops were transported, and numerous other military contingents of the armed forces ally themselves, such as Australian, British and New Zealand divisions came to West Point to their destinations.
In the summer of 1942, West Point was further upgraded. Their transport capacity was increased from 5,000 to over 8,000 people and additional anti-aircraft guns mounted. Although this capacity expansion caused a rather cramped conditions on board, but significantly increased their effectiveness. Their speed and high capacity made ??it a strategically important transport ship of the United States in the war. With the ability to bring high of troops quickly to hot spots, the U.S. was able to stop the advance of the Japanese in the Pacific with superior mobility. The West Point brought here only about 40,000 soldiers in the directly threatened by the Japanese invasion of New Guinea Australia.

Since a devastating fire in early September 1942, the West Point until then, often accompanying USS Wakefield drove the ship for safety reasons mostly without escorts and other troop on undisclosed routes, since she was alone a difficult to apt destination for their speed, as in convoy ride slower cruisers and vans. Your speed, agility, and body painting, which ensured that it is difficult to locate the enemy and was even harder to attack, and often from the rail of nowhere, brought her to the nickname "Grey Ghost".
Whenever it was possible, navigating at full steam at a speed of 23 knots, mostly on a zigzag course to provide anti-submarine attacks no Anpeilungsmöglichkeit The Grey Ghost was driving. Top speed was only 5 of the six boiler reaches operating, so that the rotation principle, a boiler could be maintained and service interruptions were unnecessary. The large fuel tanks, which allowed a range of over 11,000 nautical miles, also ensured that the ship had to be relatively rare refueled. Thus, precious time could be saved on the routes.
The West point in 1944 at the U.S. Naval Drydocks at Hunters Point, San Francisco. You can see the mounted defensive guns, as well as the missing railing at the rear, which was replaced by a warship typical folding railing, to not interfere with the guns while in use.
-Picture: U.S. Navy / National Archives-

From 1944, the focus of transportation of West Point shifted with the successful landing of the Allied Normandy in the more into the Atlantic. The ship was used for a kind of line transport from the U.S. to Europe and North Africa.
On the way to Europe, it was transporting troops and reinforcements on the return trips to the USA wounded and prisoners of war.

After the war, West Point was used for the return of American troops and "war brides" to the United States. Until the end of 1945 on the route to Europe from the beginning of 1946 once again in the Pacific.
The last trip, transported back to American military personnel of the Philippines, ended on 7 February 1946 in New York.
West Point at high seas.
-Picture: US Navy, National Archives-
The West Point when arriving in New York, Summer 1942
-Picture: U.S. Navy, National Archives-
left: the dramatic bow view of West Point in 1944 in the Bay of San Francisco. Right: Stern view, same place.
top/down: West Point arrives with victorious troops in the port of New York after the war.
West Point in Melbourne, Australia, March 15, 1943.
-Picture: Newport News SB-
After that West Point was released from her military service. At this time they had an impressive number of more than 500,000 people safely transported to their destinations all over the world and traveled a total distance that corresponds approximately to a 15-fold earth orbit.

Even if the activity appears as a troop transport at first sight after a lackluster career break, it was anything but that, because the ship took part with his missions to the victory of freedom over the totalitarian regimes of injustice in Europe and Asia.
The West Point made her builders all honor and survived this mission without any major damage to man and machine. Not a single person on board lost their lives due to enemy attacks throughout the war. This record is unique and impressive at the same time.
Her crew and a large number of military personnel from that time looks back with pride on their ship, the USS West Point and its brilliantly mastered  tasks and will keep them in memory for a lifetime.
Next chapter: The Story of S.S. America 1946-1964 -->
Lunch in the former first class dining room.
-Picture: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Map showing all missions of West Point during the war.
-Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Food consumption
(during a trans-Atlantic crossing at 8500 persons on board):

10,000 kg wheat flour, 5,700 kg of sugar, 1,600 kg of butter, 93.600 eggs, a ton of salt, 9,500 kg boneless meat, 1,100 kg of chicken meat, 2,700 kg pork loin, 800 kg of canned ham, 700 kg Bacon, 2,300 kg ham, 2,300 kg pork sausage, 900 kg Turkey, 4,500 kg oranges, 3,200 kg of apples, 4,500 kg cabbage, 31.800 kg potatoes, 2,300 kg of condensed milk, 1,800 kg jam, 1,100 kg onions
West Point filmed from a blimp.
-Picture: Maritime Commission promotion film-
1945, West Point (to the left of the head of the Statue of Liberty) arrives in New York Harbor.
-Picture: Maritime Comission-
West Point, stern view at full speed.
-Picture: Maritime Comission-
advertisement:
During this time, the long travel of the ship often spanned the whole world.
A brief insight into the schedule in early November 1942 to late January 1943
On 1 November 1942 was the West Point from 8326 with U.S. soldiers on board in New York. The aim was Bombay in India, but the long voyage was not without creating intermediate stop. As a first route was taken to South America to replenish fuel and supplies to 5154 miles in Rio de Janero. On 12 November broke the ship from Rio to its over 8300 miles long crossing to Bombay, where it after 17 days at sea on 29 November arrived. Arrived in Bombay most soldiers went on board. The next destination on the route of the West Point was Australia. In the 6021-mile crossing to Melbourne next to the crew were only 40 passengers on board. On 19 December broke the ship from Melbourne with 303 soldiers on board for New Zealand. When entering the two largest cities in the country, Wellington and Auckland, 23 and 26 December, it took more than 7500 New Zealand soldiers to bring them to New Caledonia to defend the island 1145 miles away Noumea. Noumea from the West Point was ordered to Australian Eastern Brisbane to look out for 826 miles at sea on 6 January arrived to Route 8582 with Malaria GIs of the U.S. armed forces in the climate more suitable for a recovery Melbourne. Additional hardships for the patients resulted from the fact that the West Point had too much depth for applying at the pier of the city and had to be brought over to the transport rafts instead anchored in the Brisbane River River Delta passengers 17 miles away. After arriving in Melbourne on 12 January, it went over Auckland 2400 wounded on board back to the U.S. to San Francisco, where the West Point on 31 January arrived.

When an incident off the coast of Brazil, a German torpedo just missed the bow of West Point. Several times during the war rewarded with military honors sinking of the ship was erroneously reported by the Axis powers, which was the third largest troop of Allies alongside the Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth.
But certainly believed in Colombo in Ceylon arrive at the location of West Point was chaotic. There was not enough to supply provisions to the troop enough for a full load. Thus, the British officials the West Point and Wakefield asked instead, only a small number of troops and personnel to Bombay to lay or to evacuate. On the way to Bombay both transporters were protected from the aging Greek destroyer Queen Olga, a veteran of the first World War. From Bombay, it went to the West Point continues to Suez in Egypt in order to record Australian soldiers who were transferred from the fighting in North Africa back to Australia for home protection against Japan.
Birth certificate of Westpoint Leslie Sheldrake, born 4 February 1942 on the voyage from Singapore to Ceylon on board the ship. His first name was dedicated in gratitude to the place of his birth: the USS West Point.
-Picture: courtesy of Bill Lee-
The West Point is anchored in 1943 in the Bay of Melbourne, Australia. The draught of the vessel was too large for a docking at the city's port a few miles away.
-Picture: U.S. Navy / National Archives-
Letter of Buckingham Palace dedicated to the USS West Point Reunion Association, which emphasizes especially on the participation of the vessel during the evacuation of Singapore. Signed by Prince Philip, Queen Elizabeth's husband.
-courtesy of Bill Lee-
West Point at anchor.
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Content

U.S.S. West Point

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated atm.

U.S.S. West Point 1941-1946- Der "graue Geist"
In den folgenden Kriegsjahren begann eine gefährliche und herausfordernde Zeit für die USS West Point, ihre Besatzung und die transportierten Soldaten, die besonders in den ersten Monaten im Kriegseinsatz von Notfallmissionen geprägt war:

Das erste mal in eine Kampfzone gelangte das Schiff Anfang Januar 1942. Der auf der vorherigen Seite erwähnte von Basrah nach Bombay nach Singapur umgeleitete Truppentransport, der gut die eskalierende Lage im Pazifikraum verdeutlicht, näherte sich langsam der zu Niederländisch- Indien (heute Indonesien) gehörenden Insel Java an. Für diesen Bereich wurden japanische U-Boot Aktivitäten gemeldet und so wurde beschlossen, den Konvoi in dem sich die West Point befand, auf einem Umweg durch ein schützendes, aber zugleich auch gefährliches Korallenriff zu lotsen. Die Schiffe passierten das Riff bei langsamen 10 Knoten hintereinander aufgereiht. Die Lage in Singapur wurde zwischenzeitlich immer bedrohlicher. So wurde der Konvoi aufgespalten und die schnelleren Schiffe, zu denen die West Point gehörte, vorrausgeschickt, um schneller in der ostasiatischen Metropole einzutreffen und die dort kämpfenden britischen Soldaten zu verstärken. Beim Einlaufen der West Point am 29. Januar lag der Marinehafen der Stadt bereits unter permanenten japanischen Luftangriffen. So wichen sie und die anderen Truppentransporter in den weniger bombardierten und von Luftabwehr geschützten zivilen Frachthafen aus.
Nur um haaresbreite entkam der umfunktionierte Luxusliner seinem Ende einen Tag später. Während er im Hafen vor Anker lag, startete ein japanischer Luftangriff auf die Stadt. Einige Bomben detonierten in nächster Nähe, verfehlten das Schiff jedoch glücklicherweise, so dass lediglich Bombensplitter geringfügigen Schaden anrichteten. Ein mit im Hafen liegendes Versorgungsschiff hatte weniger Glück. Es erlitt einen direkten Treffer und sank sofort. Die Lagerhäuser am Hafen standen in Flammen. Wegen der sich zuspitzenden Lage wurde ein Notfallplan für die Evakuierung von Zivilisten aus der Stadt aufgestellt. Die West Point nahm in aller Eile über 1000 Flüchtlinge an Bord, unter ihnen viele Frauen und Kinder. Noch am selben Abend floh die West Point (Taue zwischen Schiff und Pier wurden mit Äxten durchschlagen) zusammen mit der Wakefield unter dem Schutz der einbrechenden Dunkelheit aus der wenig später in japanische Hände fallende Stadt in Richtung Batavia auf Java. Dort wurden am 31. Januar weitere Flüchtlinge an Bord genommen. Unter dem Geleit des britischen Zerstörers HMAS Vampire und zwei weiteren Eskorten ging es dann für die West Point und die Wakefield in Richtung des sicheren Ceylon (heute Sri Lanka). Auf dieser Passage wurde am 4 Februar an Bord ein Baby geboren, das erste in der langen Karriere des Schiffes.
Seite 2: Die West Point im Einsatz
Von Australien aus machte sich die West Point auf nach San Francisco, wo sie am 24. April eintraf. Die oft spontanen Nothilfsmissionen der ersten Monate endeten für das Schiff mit dieser Reise. Die von dem Überfall auf Pearl Harbour überrumpelten USA hatten inzwischen eine Strategie für die Bekämpfung der Japaner ausgearbeitet, in der die West Point im weiteren Verlauf eingebunden war.
Die Zeit von Mitte 1942 bis Mitte 1944 verbrachte das Schiff so hauptsächlich auf Missionen im indischen Ozean und im Pazifik. Die Hauptaufgabe während dieser Zeit war zweifellos der Transport von Soldaten zu ihren Einsatzgebieten. Aber auch Krankentransporte oder die Evakuierung von Personen aus bedrohten Gebieten und Kriegsgefangenentransporte (Der erste große Kriegsgefangenentransport der West Point beförderte im April 1943 Teile von Rommels geschlagenem Afrikakorps von Suez nach Australien) gehörten zu den Tätigkeiten.
Nicht nur US-amerikanische Truppen wurden transportiert, auch zahlreiche andere Truppenkontingente der alliieren Streitkräfte, wie z.B. australische, englische und neuseeländische Divisionen gelangten auf der West Point zu ihren Einsatzorten.
Im Sommer 1942 wurde die West Point weiter aufgerüstet. Ihre Transportkapazität wurde von 5000 auf über 8000 Personen erhöht und zusätzliche Abwehrgeschütze montiert. Diese Kapazitätserweiterung sorgte zwar für ziemlich beengte Verhältnisse an Bord, erhöhte aber ihre Effektivität deutlich. Ihre Schnelligkeit bei hoher Kapazität machte sie zum strategisch wichtigsten Transportschiff der USA im Krieg. Durch die Möglichkeit hohe Truppenkontingente schnell an Brennpunkte zu bringen, gelang es den USA, den Vormarsch der Japaner in Pazifikraum mit einer überlegenen Mobilität zu stoppen. Die West Point brachte dabei allein über 40.000 Soldaten in das nach der japanischen Invasion von Neuginea direkt bedrohte Australien.

Seit einem verheerenden Brand Anfang September 1942 auf der die West Point bis dahin oft begleitenden USS Wakefield fuhr das Schiff aus Sicherheitsgründen meist ohne Eskorten und andere Truppentransporter auf geheimgehaltenen Routen, da sie aufgrund ihrer Schnelligkeit alleine ein schwerer zu treffendes Ziel war, als in Konvoifahrt mit langsameren Kreuzern und Transportern. Ihre Schnelligkeit, Wendigkeit, und Rumpfbemalung, welche dafür sorgten, dass sie für den  Gegner nur schwer zu orten und noch schwerer anzugreifen war, sowie oft aus dem Nichts aufzutauchen schien, brachten ihr so den Spitznamen "Grey Ghost", "grauer Geist", ein.
Der graue Geist fuhr, wann immer es möglich war, unter Volldampf mit einer Geschwindigkeit um 23 Knoten, meistens auf einem Zick-Zack-Kurs navigierend, um feindlichen U-Boot Angriffen keine Anpeilungsmöglichkeit zu bieten. Höchstgeschwindigkeit wurde mit nur 5 der sechs Kessel in Betrieb erreicht, so dass im Rotationsprinzip immer ein Kessel gewartet werden konnte und Dienstunterbrechungen unnötig waren. Die großen Treibstofftanks, welche eine Reichweite von über 11.000 Seemeilen erlaubten, sorgten zudem dafür, dass das Schiff nur relativ selten neu betankt werden musste. So konnte kostbare Zeit auf den Routen gespart werden.
Die West Point 1944 vor den U.S. Naval Drydocks bei Hunters Point, San Francisco. Gut zu erkennen sind die montierten Abwehrgeschütze sowie die fehlende original Reling  im Heckbereich, welche durch eine für Kriegsschiffe typische umklappbare ersetzt wurde, um bei Einsatz der Geschütze nicht im Weg zu sein.
-Bild: U.S. Navy/ National Archives-
Ab 1944 verlagerte sich mit der erfolgreichen Landung der alliierten in der Normandie der Schwerpunkt der Transporte der West Point mehr in den Atlantik. Das Schiff wurde für eine Art Linientransport von den USA nach Europa und Nordafrika eingesetzt.
Auf der Hinfahrt nach Europa transportierte es Truppenverstärkungen und auf den Rückfahrten in die USA Verwundete und Kriegsgefangene.

Nach Kriegsende wurde die West Point für den Rücktransport von amerikanischen Truppen und "Kriegsbräuten" in die USA eingesetzt. Bis Ende 1945 auf der Route nach Europa und ab Anfang 1946 noch einmal im Pazifik.
Die letzte Reise, mit rücktransportierten amerikanischen Militärangehörigen von den Philippinen, endete am 7. Februar 1946 in New York.

West Point auf hoher See.
-Bild: US Navy, National Archives-
Die West Point beim einlaufen in New York, Sommer 1942
-Bild: US Navy, National Archives-
links: dramatische Bugaufnahme der Westpoint 1944 in der Bucht von San Francisco. rechts: Heckansicht, gleicher Ort.
-Bilder: US Navy-
Oben/unten: West Point läuft mit siegreichen Truppen nach Kriegsende in den Hafen von New York ein.
-Bilder: US Navy/National Archives, Maritime Comission-
Die Westpoint in Melbourne, 15. März 1943.
-Bild: Newport News SB-
Danach wurde die West Point aus ihrem Militärdienst entlassen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte sie die beeindruckende Zahl von über 500.000 Personen sicher über die ganze Welt zu ihren Destinationen transportiert und dabei insgesamt eine Distanz zurückgelegt, die ungefähr einer 15 -fachen Erdumrundung entspricht.

Auch wenn die Tätigkeit als Truppentransporter auf den ersten Blick nach einer glanzlosen Unterbrechung der Karriere aussieht, so war es alles andere als das, denn das Schiff diente mit seinen Einsätzen dem Sieg der Freiheit über die totalitären Unrechtsregime in Europa und Asien.
Die West Point machte ihren Erbauern alle Ehre und überstand diesen Einsatz ohne größere Schäden an Mensch und Material. Keine einzige Person an Bord lies aufgrund von feindlichen Angriffen ihr Leben, während des gesamten Krieges nicht. Diese Bilanz ist einzigartig und beeindruckend zugleich, hatte aber auch damit zu tun, dass die West Point wegen ihrer enormen strategischen Kriegsbedeutung aus den gefährlichsten Kriegseinsätzen für Schiffe wie Landungen und aktiven Kampfzonen weitesgehend herausgehalten wurde.
Eine große Anzahl Militärangehöriger aus dieser Zeit blicken mit Stolz auf ihr Schiff, die USS West Point und ihre bravourös gemeisterten Aufgaben zurück und behielten und behalten sie Zeitlebens in Erinnerung.

Inhalt

Weiter zur Story der S.S. America 1946-1964 -->
Essen im ehemaligen erste Klasse Speisesaal.
-Bild: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Karte aller Missionen der West Point.
-Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Lebensmittelverbrauch
(während einer Transatlantiküberfahrt bei 8500 Personen  an Bord):

10.000 kg Weizenmehl, 5.700 kg Zucker, 1.600 kg Butter, 93.600 Eier, eine Tonne Salz, 9.500 kg knochenloses Fleisch, 1.100 kg Hühnchenfleisch, 2.700 kg Schweinerücken, 800 kg Dosenschinken, 700 kg Speck, 2.300 kg Schinken, 2.300 kg Fleischwurst, 900 kg Truthahn, 4.500 kg Orangen, 3.200 kg Äpfel, 4.500 kg Kohl, 31.800 kg Kartoffeln, 2.300 kg Kondensmilch, 1.800 kg Marmelade, 1.100 kg Zwiebeln
Die West Point aus einem Luftschiff heraus gefilmt.
-Bild: Maritime Commission Werbefilm-
West Point (links neben Kopf v. Freiheitsstatue) läuft 1945 in den Hafen von New York ein.
-Bild: Maritime Comission-
West Point, Heckansicht bei Volldampf.
-Bild: Maritime Comission-
Werbung:
Während dieser Zeit umspannten die langen Reisen des Schiffes oft die ganze Welt.
Ein kurzer Einblick in den Fahrplan Anfang November 1942 bis Ende Januar 1943:
Am 1. November 1942 lief die West Point mit 8326 US Soldaten an Bord in New York aus. Ziel war Bombay in Indien, allerdings war die lange Seereise nicht ohne Zwischenstop zu schaffen. So wurde zunächst eine Route in Richtung Südamerika eingeschlagen, um nach 5154 Meilen in Rio de Janero Treibstoff und Proviant aufzufüllen. Am 12. November brach das Schiff dann von Rio zu seiner über 8300 Meilen langen Überfahrt nach Bombay auf, wo es nach 17 Tagen auf See am 29. November ankam. In Bombay angekommen gingen die meisten Soldaten von Bord. Das nächste Ziel auf der Route der West Point war Australien. Auf der 6021 Meilen langen Überfahrt nach Melbourne waren neben der Besatzung nur 40 Passagiere an Bord. Am 19. Dezember brach das Schiff von Melbourne mit 303 Soldaten an Bord in Richtung Neuseeland auf. Beim Einlaufen in die beiden größten Städte des Landes, Wellington und Auckland, am 23. bzw. 26. Dezember, nahm es über 7500 neuseeländische Soldaten auf, um sie nach Neukaledonien zum verteidigen der 1145 Meilen entfernten Insel Noumea zu bringen. Von Noumea aus wurde die West Point ins ostaustralische Brisbane geordert, wo sie nach 826 Meilen auf See am 6. Januar eintraf, um 8582 an Malaria erkrankte GIs der US- Streitkräfte in das für eine Genesung klimatisch besser geeignete Melbourne zu verlegen. Zusätzliche Strapazen für die Erkrankten ergaben sich dadurch, das die West Point zu viel Tiefgang für ein Anlegen am Hafenpier der Stadt hatte und die Passagiere über Transportflöße auf das stattdessen im 17 Meilen entfernten Flussdelta des Brisbane River ankernde Schiff gebracht werden mussten. Nach dem Eintreffen in Melbourne am 12. Januar, ging es über Auckland mit 2400 verwundeten an Bord zurück in die USA nach San Francisco, wo die West Point am 31. Januar ankam.

Bei einer Begebenheit vor der Küste Brasiliens verfehlte ein deutscher Torpedo nur knapp den Bug der West Point. Mehrere male während des Krieges wurde fälschlicherweise die mit militärischen Ehren belohnte Versenkung des Schiffes von den Achsenmächten vermeldet, welches neben der Queen Mary und der Queen Elizabeth der drittgrößte Truppentransporter der Alliierten war.
Aber auch im sicher geglaubten Colombo auf Ceylon war die Lage beim eintreffen der West Point chaotisch. Es gab nicht genügend Proviant um die Truppentransporter ausreichend für eine volle Beladung zu versorgen. So baten die britischen Offiziellen die West Point und die Wakefield stattdessen nur eine geringe Anzahl von Truppen und Personal nach Bombay zu Verlegen bzw. zu evakuieren. Auf der Fahrt nach Bombay wurden beide Transporter von dem alternden griechischen Zerstörer Queen Olga beschützt, einem Veteran aus dem 1. Weltkrieg. Von Bombay aus ging es für die West Point weiter nach Suez in Ägypten, um dort australische Soldaten aufzunehmen, die von den Kämpfen in Nordafrika zurück nach Australien zum Heimatschutz vor Japan verlegt wurden.
Geburtsurkunde von Westpoint Leslie Sheldrake, geboren am 4. Februar 1942 auf der Überfahrt von Singapur nach Ceylon an Bord des Schiffes. Sein erster Vorname war in Dankbarkeit dem Ort seiner Geburt gewidmet: der West Point.
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee-
Die West Point ankert 1943 in der Bucht vor Melbourne, Australien. Der Tiefgang des Schiffes ist zu groß für ein Anlegen im Hafen der Stadt.
-Bild: U.S. Navy/ National Archives-
Brief des Buckingham Palace an die USS West Point Reunion Association, welcher besonders den Einsatz des Schiffes während der Evakuierung Singapurs hervorhebt. Unterzeichnet von Prince Philip, Königin Elisabeths Mann.
-Vielen Dank an Bill Lee-
Die West Point vor Anker.
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: