U.S.S. West Point 1941-1946- The "Grey Ghost"
The carefree entertainment tours of America to the Caribbean in 1941 had already become a routine of his actual employment deprived Atlantic liner.
This routine but was abruptly interrupted in May of the same year, this time permanently.
The war in Europe and the tensions with Japan widened more and more so that President Roosevelt decided to draw up a contingency plan for the possible event of war. In the course of numerous ships were needed and so America was called into the service of the Navy.

Beginning of June came with the proclamation of the "unlimited national emergency" the convening of America for U.S. Navy. The ship had to cancel a cruise and just performed was brought to a stop to discontinuation of passengers in New York immediately after its builders Newport News shipyard and refitted there in just 11 days used for troop transport.
Page 1: Conversion and first missions
Content

After the conversion, the America was barely recognizable from the inside in some areas. The less than a year old interior was almost completely removed, including most of the works of art. The remaining were covered with wallboard.
After the cabins and crew quarters were emptied, they began to incorporate modules of four-story bunks. Cabin walls were removed to create as large dormitories. Also, the lounges were converted. The ballroom alone now summed over 500 beds and the meeting room was smoking room and wardroom. Before the closed promenade deck liferafts were mounted.
After completion of the conversation, the transport capacity was about 5000 people. The gray painted America was renamed to USS West Point, after the famous military academy and got the navy intern number AP-23 assigned. The luxury liner was now a purpose-optimized, well-functioning transporter with the capacity to take in a small town.
The armament included four anti-aircraft guns, anti-aircraft batteries, machine guns, torpedo launch tubes and a demagnetizing belt against mines.
On 15 June, the AP-23 was officially commissioned with a ceremony.
From America to West Point: hull, superstructure, masts, windows, portholes, rescue boats ... the entire ship wass painted gray.
-Picture: National Archives-
The situation however became more delicate in the end of 1941 with the first troop transport of West point, a secret mission. The formally neutral United States sent the West Point to Canada, to comply with a request of Great Britain, to transport troops to the Iraqi port city of Basra. After the over 5400 British and Canadian soldiers went onboard in Halifax, the trip started on 10 November in a convoy with five other troop ships (USS Orizaba, USS Mount Vernon, USS Wakefield, USS Leonard Wood and USS Joseph T. Dickman) and escorts at painfully slow 14 knots (maximum speed of the slowest operating ship, the Orizaba) first in the direction of Brazil, and after a stopover in Rio over the Southern Atlantic Ocean in the direction of Africa. As the West Point crossed just the South Atlantic close to South Africa, an event took place that should change everything for the United States: The Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. The United States was now at war with the axis powers and this development also had an impact on the West Point's mission. The new destination of the troop transport was no longer the Iraq, but India. Arrived in Bombay the destination of transportation was once again redirected after a few days waiting period depending on the situation  to strengthen the forces in the threatened directly by Japan Singapore.
From this mission on the USS West Point was officially at war.

Top left: meeting room and cinema, part of former first class lounge. Top center: one of many washrooms, former third class childrenplayroom.Top right: sleeping quaters in the former first class Duck Suite. left: sleeping quartes in the former first class ballroom. below: Promenade Deck
-Pictures: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin -
Die West Point läuft nach Kriegsende 1945 mit heimkehrenden Truppen an Bord in New York ein.
-Bild: Offizielles US Navy Foto im Bestand der National Archives-
The West Point (far left) in formation of the troop convoy in the atlantic on her way to Iraq.
-Picture: National Archives-
U.S.S. West Point

Page 2: West Point in service -->
Above: West Point leaves New York with 464 italian and german diplomats, consular staff and agents heading for Portugal.
-Picture: Universal Newsreel-

Left: Cachet of West Point's first voyage from New York to Lisbon. It was sent from the West Point Military Academy, the namesake of the ship.
-Picture: courtesy of Bill Lee-
West Point on the way to her first atlantic crossing against the backdrop of Manhattan.
-Picture: Universal Newsreel-
The first trip for the West Point started on 15 July 1941 to carry on a diplomatic mission to Europe to transport 464 German and Italian diplomats, agents and reporters in an exchange to neutral Portugal. On the way back, West Point should bring back American diplomats to the United States. At midnight on July 16, a day after the expiry of a deadline for the departure of diplomats and agents of the Axis powers from the U.S., the West Point was ready for departure. But this was blocked as American consular officers and diplomats were hold back in Germany and Italy on their way to Lisbon as a security guarantee. After solving this problem, the West Point departed the following afternoon.
At that time the U.S. was not yet at war, and so this trip was comparatively safe.
In August, the ship spent some days in Portsmouth (Virginia) for more modifications and maneuvering exercises near the coast together with the two also previously belonging to the United States lines ships Washington (now the USS Mount Vernon) and Manhattan (now USS Wakefield).
Officers and part of the crew on sun deck of West Point during the commisioning ceremony, 15 Juni 1941.
-Picture: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin -
Report on "America's secret Navy" featuring the West Point.
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated atm.

U.S.S. West Point 1941-1946- Der "graue Geist"
Die sorgenfreien Vergnügungstouren der America in die Karibik waren 1941 bereits zur Routine des seiner eigentlichen Beschäftigung beraubten Atlantikliners geworden.
Diese Routine wurde aber im Mai desselben Jahres jäh unterbrochen und zwar diesmal endgültig.
Der Krieg in Europa und die Spannungen mit Japan weiteten sich immer mehr aus, so dass Präsident Roosevelt beschloss, einen Notfallplan für den möglichen Kriegsfall aufzustellen. Im Zuge dessen wurden auch zahlreiche Schiffe benötigt und so wurde die America in den Dienst der Marine berufen.

Anfang Juni  kam mit der Ausrufung der "unlimited national emergency" die Einberufung der America zur US Navy. Das Schiff musste eine gerade durchgeführte Kreuzfahrt abbrechen und wurde nach einem Zwischenstopp zum Absetzen der Passagiere in New York unverzüglich in seine Erbauerwerft nach Newport News gebracht und dort innerhalb von nur 11 Tagen zum Einsatz für den Truppentransport umgerüstet.
Seite 1: Umbau und erste Missionen
Inhalt

Nach dem Umbau war die America von innen in einigen Bereichen kaum wiederzuerkennen. Die nicht mal ein Jahr alte Innenausstattung wurde fast komplett entfernt, inklusive der meisten Kunstwerke. Die verbliebenen wurden mit Wandplatten verkleidet.
Nachdem die Kabinen und Mannschaftsunterkünfte leergeräumt waren, begann man damit, Module von vierstöckigen Kojen einzubauen. Kabinentrennwände wurden entfernt, um so größere Schlafsäle zu schaffen. Auch die Aufenthaltsräume wurden umfunktioniert. Der Ballsaal allein fasste nun über 500 Schlafgelegenheiten und der Rauchsalon wurde Besprechungsraum und Offiziersmesse. Vor dem geschlossenen Promenadendeck wurden Notschlauchboote montiert.

Nach Abschluss des Umbaus lag die Transportkapazität bei über 5000 Personen. Die grau gestrichene America wurde in USS West Point, nach der berühmten  Militärakademie, umbenannt und bekam die navyinterne Nummer AP-23 zugewiesen. Der Luxusliner war jetzt ein zweckoptimierter, gut funktionierender Transporter mit der Kapazität, eine gesamte Kleinstadt zu fassen.
Zur Bewaffnung gehörten vier Abwehrgeschütze, Flak-Batterien, Maschinengewehre, Torpedoausstoßrohre und eine Entmagnetisierungsanlage gegen Minen.
Am 15. Juni wurde die AP-23 dann offiziell mit einer feierlichen Zeremonie in Dienst gestellt.
Von der America zur WestPoint: Rumpf, Aufbauten, Masten, Fenster, Bullaugen, Rettungsboote... das gesamte Schiff wird Grau übergestrichen.
-Bild: National Archives-
Heikler wurde es dagegen Ende 1941 mit dem ersten Truppentransport der West Point, einer Geheimmission. Die formal neutralen USA schickten die West Point nach Kanada, um dort einer Bitte Großbritanniens nachzukommen, Truppen in die irakische Hafenstadt Basrah zu transportieren. Nach dem die über 5400 britischen und kanadischen Soldaten in Halifax an Bord untergekommen waren, ging es am 10. November im Konvoi mit fünf anderen Truppentransportern (USS Orizaba, USS Mount Vernon, USS Wakefield, USS Leonard Wood und USS Joseph T. Dickman) und Eskorten bei quälend langsamen 14 Knoten (Höchstgeschwindigkeit des langsamsten Truppentransporters, der Orizaba) zunächst in Richtung Brasilien und nach einem Zwischenstop in Rio über den südlichen Atlantik in Richtung Afrika. Als die West Point gerade den Süd- Atlantik in der Nähe Südafrikas durchquerte, kam es jedoch zu dem Ereignis, dass für die USA alles verändern sollte. Der japanische Angriff auf Pearl Harbor am 7. Dezember 1941. Die USA befanden sich jetzt ebenfalls im Krieg mit den Achsenmächten und das hatte auch Auswirkungen auf die Mission der West Point. Das neue Ziel des Truppentransports war nun nicht mehr der Irak, sondern Indien. In Bombay angekommen wurde das Ziel des Transports situationsbedingt nach einigen Tagen Wartezeit allerdings abermals umgeleitet, um die Truppen in dem direkt von Japan bedrohten Singapur zu stärken.
Von dieser Mission an befand sich die USS West Point offiziell im Kriegseinsatz.
Oben links: Besprechungsraum, ehemalige erste Klasse Lounge. Oben mitte: einer von vielen Waschräumen, ehemaliger dritte Klasse Kinderspielraum.Oben rechts:Schlafquatiere in der erste Klasse Ducksuite. links:  Schlafquatiere im ehemaligen erste Klasse Ballsaal. unten: Promenadendeck
-Bilder: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Die West Point läuft nach Kriegsende 1945 mit heimkehrenden Truppen an Bord in New York ein.
-Bild: Offizielles US Navy Foto im Bestand der National Archives-
Die West Point (ganz links) in Formation des Truppenkonvois auf dem Weg in den Irak.
-Bild: National Archives-
U.S.S. West Point

Weiter zu Teil 2: Die West Point im Einsatz -->
Oben: Die West Point verlässt mit 464 Diplomaten, Konsularpersonal und Agenten Italiens und Deutschlands New York in Richtung Portugal.
-Bild: Universal Newsreel-

Links: Gestempelter Umschlag der ersten Reise der West Point von New York nach Lissabon. Abgeschickt wurde er von der Militärakademie West Point, dem Namensgeber des Schiffes.
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee-
Die West Point auf dem Weg zu ihrer ersten Atlantiküberquerung vor der Kulisse Manhattans.
-Bild: Universal Newsreel-
Ihre erste Reise trat die West Point am 15. Juli 1941 in diplomatischer Mission nach Europa an, um 464 deutsche und italienische Diplomaten, Agenten und Reporter in einem Austausch in das neutrale Portugal zu transportieren. Auf ihrem Rückweg sollte sie amerikanische Diplomaten zurück in die USA bringen. Um Mitternacht des 16 Juli, einen Tag nach dem Auslaufen einer Deadline für die Ausreise von Diplomaten und Agenten der Achsenmächte aus den USA,  war die West Point ablegebereit. Ihr Auslaufen wurde aber blockiert, da in Deutschland und Italien amerikanisches Konsularpersonal und Diplomaten auf dem Weg nach Lissabon als Sicherheitsgarantie festgehalten wurden. Nach Lösung dieses Problems legte die West Point am folgenden Nachmittag ab.
Zu dieser Zeit befanden sich die USA noch nicht im Krieg und so war diese Reise vergleichsweise gefahrlos.
Im August verbrachte das Schiff einige Tage in Portsmouth (Virginia) für weitere Umbaumaßnahmen, um anschließend zusammen mit den beiden ebefalls vorher den United States Lines gehörenden Linern Washington (jetzt USS Mount Vernon) und Manhattan (jetzt USS Wakefield) Flottenmanöver in Küstennähe zu trainieren.
Offiziere und Teile der Crew auf dem Sonnendeck der West Point während der Indienststellungszeremonie am 15. Juni 1941.
-Bild: Newport News Shipyard Bulletin-
Bericht über die geheime "Geisterflotte" der US-Navy.
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: