S.S. America 1946-1964
1958 was a key year for the great transatlantic liners. This year for the first time more passengers traveled by air over the atlantic ocean, than by ship. With the successful start of the Boeing 707 regular scheduled flights, the jet age began this year in passenger traffic and hit the big European and American shipping companies with full force. Although the aircraft in terms of comfort, rest, food, and culture could never match up the luxury liners, the time factor was  ultimately the decisive argument for this irreversible trend in a increasingly busy and faster world.
From the early 60s also the America got into financial difficulties. The passengers on the Atlantic routes generally declined noticeably since the new jets increasingly pushed back the market share of great transatlantic liners. The booking rates of America declined in 1960 to 67%. In the following year they fell further to 61%. The situation was worsened due to a series of strikes that confused the schedule of the ship and scared away even more passengers.
Page 3: Difficult times- The economic downrun of transatlantic ocean travel
To counteract the general trend of passenger decline, capacities in still popular tourist class were extended by merging 2nd and 3rd class of the ship. Since 1961 America was a two class liner with 516 first and 532 tourist class capacity. The former third class lounge was converted into a cinema and all passengers now had access to the swimming pool.
America at storm tide in Bremerhaven.
-Picture: postcard-
But even that did not help. On her first transatlantic crossing with the new two-class configuration were only about 140 first class and 400 tourist class passengers on board. The reservations for the following discharge dates were so low that even some Atlantic crossings were canceled. Endless strikes and union demands aggravated the financial situation in addition.
To remedy the situation and to get America back to profitability, a cruise program was established for the permit by the U.S. Congress separately, a law was changed, which allowed the subsidized vessel despite the possibility of distortion allowed to perform cruises in American waters.
America in Bremerhaven.
In 1962, the passenger load factor of America recovered then suddenly, sometimes even up to 100%. This was again a result of government intervention, this time in the form of a contract of carriage for military personnel to Europe.
Nevertheless, in the subsequent period, passenger numbers began to decline again, as the number of other civilian passengers continued to decline.
, September 1963, heralded the end. Strikes, triggered by racism allegations against an officer and disagreements within the unions prevented more runs and an end to the crisis was not in sight, so that the entire winter schedule had to be canceled and that America was launched inactive for months.
Then the scheduled transatlantic service was resumed in the summer of '64, but the passenger numbers fell, shattered by trust, and further the atmosphere between crew and US Lines remained tense due to the union strikes and discrepancies.
In this situation, the United States Lines decided to sell the unprofitable vessel. The most promising prospective buyer was the Greek shipping company Chandris Lines.
The sale plans were officially kept secret and denied for inquiries, but it was not long until the first rumors in the summer leaked to the public. Newspapers called the sales later, the worst kept secret of the year '64. As the unions realized that the United States Lines was planning to sell the America to foreign interests, the outcry was load. It was spoken by the sale of American interests and announced further strikes. But the decision was irreversible.
On 9 October started the liner to its last transatlantic crossing, the end of an era.
End of the same month, the America was laid up in her builders shipyard in Newport News, from where she should start a new career soon.
Next chapter: R.H.M.S. Australis -->
further reading:
America in early morning fog docked in New York.
America in New York in glorious sunshine.
Farewell in Bremerhaven. America moored at Columbus Quay.
-Picture: Bremerhaven: Busy -Breezy - Booming - Town-
Arrival in New York.
-Picture: United States Lines Pub. Dep.-.
Copy of the notice sent to travel agencies to announce the retirement of America. The reasons for the retirement of the ship  are quoted "her age and other factors", hiding the real causes of low booking rates caused by general declining passenger numbers and in relation to that no longer to be paid, ever rising wages enforced by strong unions, plus a shattered relationship between union organized crew members and the shipping company. But to name these "other factors" in front of a travel agency would have been equal to a declaration of a fail of US Lines own business model.
advertisement:
The end of an era and the beginning of a new career: America leaves its builders shipyard in Newport News in November 1964 one last time. Her funnels are already painted  blue for her new owners, while her hull still wears the black of a transatlantic liner. Even a new name emblazoned on her bow: Australis.
-Picture: photographed by Alexander Crosby Brown. Courtey of Bill Lee -
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Content


S.S. America 1946-1964

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

S.S. America 1946-1964
1958 war ein Schlüsseljahr für die großen Transatlantikliner. In diesem Jahr reisten erstmals mehr Passagiere per Flugzeug über den Altantik, als per Schiff. Mit der erfolgreichen Markteinführung der Boeing 707 für Linienflüge, begann in diesem Jahr das Jet-Zeitalter im Passagierverkehr und traf die großen europäischen und amerikanischen Reedereien mit voller Wucht. Zwar konnte das Flugzeug in puncto Komfort, Erholung, Verpflegung und Kultur nie den Luxuslinern das Wasser reichen, aber der Zeitfaktor war in einer immer schnelllebigeren Welt letztlich das ausschlaggebende Argument für einen unumkehrbaren Trend.
Ab Anfang der 60er geriet so auch die America in wirtschaftliche Schwierigkeiten. Die Passagierzahlen auf den Atlantikrouten gingen allgemein spürbar zurück, da die neuen Jets zunehmend den Marktanteil der großen Transatlantikliner zurückdrängten. Die Auslastung der America sank 1960 auf 67% und fiel im folgenden Jahr weiter auf 61%. Verschlimmert wurde die Situation noch durch eine Serie von Streiks, die den Fahrplan des Schiffes zunichte machten und Passagiere abschreckten.
Seite 3: Schwierige Zeiten- Der wirtschaftliche Niedergang Anfang der 60er
Um dem allgemeinen Trend durch niedrigere Ticketpreise entgegenzuwirken und so das Schiff wieder voll zu bekommen, vereinigte man 1961 die zweite und die dritte Klasse zur Touristenklasse. Die ehemalige dritte Klasse Lounge wurde in ein Kino umgebaut und alle Passagiere hatten jetzt Zugang zum Swimmingpool.
Die America bei Sturmflut in Bremerhaven.
-Bild: Postkarte-
Aber auch das half nichts. Auf ihrer ersten Atlantiküberquerung mit der neuen zwei Klassen Konfiguration waren lediglich rund 140 erste Klasse und 400 Touristenklasse Passagiere an Bord. Die Reservierungen für die folgenden Auslauftermine waren so niedrig, dass sogar einige Atlantiküberquerungen gestrichen wurden. Streiks und endlose Forderungen der Gewerkschaften verschlimmerten die finanzielle Situation zusätzlich.
Um Abhilfe zu schaffen und die America wieder in die Gewinnzone zu bekommen, wurde ein Kreuzfahrtprogramm aufgestellt für dessen Ermöglichung vom US Kongress extra ein Gesetz geändert wurde, das es dem subventionierten Schiff trotz möglicher Wettbewerbsverzerrung gestattete, in amerikanischen Gewässern Kreuzfahrten durchzuführen.
Die America in Bremerhaven.
1962 erholte sich die Passagierauslastung der America dann plötzlich wieder, teilweise sogar bis auf 100%. Grund dafür war erneut ein Eingreifen der Regierung, diesmal in Form eines Beförderungsvertrages für Militärangehörige nach Europa.
Trotzdem begannen in der Folgezeit die Passagierzahlen wieder zu sinken, da die Anzahl der übrigen zivilen Passagiere weiter zurückging. 
Der September 1963 läutete dann das Ende ein. Streiks, ausgelöst durch Rassismusvorwürfe gegen einen Offizier und Uneinigkeiten innerhalb der Gewerkschaften verhinderten mehrere Abfahrten und ein Ende der Krise war nicht in Sicht, so dass der gesamte Winterfahrplan gestrichen werden musste und die America über Monate untätig aufgelegt wurde.
Im Sommer '64 wurde dann der planmäßige Transatlantikdienst wieder aufgenommen, aber die Passagierzahlen sanken, auch durch erschüttertes Vertrauen, weiter und die Atmosphäre zwischen Crew und Reederei blieb aufgrund der Gewerkschaftssteiks und Unstimmigkeiten angespannt.
In dieser Situation entschieden sich die United States Lines dafür, das unrentable Schiff zu verkaufen. Aussichtsreichster Kaufinteressent war die griechische Chandris Reederei.
Die Verkaufspläne wurden offiziell geheimgehalten und bei Anfragen dementiert, jedoch dauerte es nicht lange, bis erste Gerüchte im Sommer an die Öffentlichkeit sickerten. Zeitungen nannten den Verkauf später das am schlechtesten gehütete Geheimnis des Jahres '64. Als die Gewerkschaften mitbekamen, dass die United States Lines plante, die America an ausländische Interessenten zu verkaufen, war der Aufschrei groß. Es wurde vom Ausverkauf amerikanischer Interessen gesprochen und weitere Streiks angekündigt. Doch die Entscheidung war unumkehrbar.
Am 9. Oktober startete der Liner zu seiner letzten Transatlantikfahrt, das Ende einer Ära.
Ende desselben Monats wurde die America in ihrer Erbauerwerft in Newport News aufgelegt, von wo aus sie bald in eine neue Zukunft starten sollte.

Inhalt


S.S. America 1946-1964

Weiter zur Story der R.H.M.S. Australis -->
weiteres zum Thema:
Die America im Morgennebel New Yorks.
links: America in New York bei strahlendem Sonnenschein. rechts: Die America während eines Streiks1963.
Abschied in Bremerhaven.
-Bild: Postkarte-.
Ankunft in New York.
-Bild: United States Lines Pub. Dep.-.
Abschrift der an Reisebüros gerichteten Ankündigung der Ausmusterung der America. Als Gründe für die Aufgabe des Schiffes werden "ihr Alter und andere Faktoren" genannt, womit die wirklichen Ursachen, zu geringe Auslastung durch stätig sinkende Passagierzahlen und in Relation dazu nicht mehr zu bezahlende, durch starke Gewerkschaften hochgeschraubte Löhne, sowie ein zerüttetes Verhältnis zwischen gewerkschaftlich organisierten Crewmitgliedern und Reederei verschwiegen werden. Die "anderen Faktoren" gegenüber Reisebüros offiziell beim Namen zu nennen wäre allerdings auch einer Bankrotterklärung des eigenen Geschäftsmodells gleichgekommen.
Werbung:
Das Ende einer Ära und der Beginn einer neuen Karriere: Die America verlässt im November 1964 ihre Erbauerwerft in Newport News ein letztes mal. Ihre Schornsteine tragen bereits das Blau ihrer neuen Reederei, während ihr Rumpf noch immer das Schwarz eines Transatlantikliners trägt. Auch ein neuer Name prangt an ihrem Bug: Australis.
-Bild: fotografiert von Alexander Crosby Brown- Vielen Dank an Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: