S.S. America 1946-1964
On 11 November 1946, there was a kind of déjà vu. For the second time in this decade was the America in their old and new homeport New York on her maiden voyage, and as six years ago, their reception was also a colossal this again prepared. Escorts from harbor boats, tugs, military ships, ferries, planes and an airship they brought into the port of New York to its investors at Pier 86 of the United States Lines. Even the American president's daughter, Margaret Truman, visited the ship in honor of the occasion a visit.
Then, finally, on 14 November 1946 that America was to that for which it was built with its sleek lines, its elegant luxury and their speed: A Transatlantic liners. With just over 900 passengers on board, the ship embarked on its maiden voyage as a liner to Europe and ran as scheduled in the ports of Cobh, Southampton and Le Havre. Except for extremely bad weather on the way back, which made delays to the schedule, as the speed had to be reduced, this first Atlantic crossing of America ran in peacetime successfully and smoothly. The two almost unrivaled operating Queens of the British Cunard Line got a slightly smaller, but worthy rival.
Page 2: America as a transatlantic liner
The America fit exactly into their time. Modern spa design, comfortable cabin interiors in all classes, impeccable and unobtrusive to the same crew service, and a balanced combination of American and European cuisine. Also numerous on-board amenities such as swimming pool, turkish bath, weatherproof outdoor decks, plenty of natural light through large windows, livingroom like lounges, libraries and spacious dining rooms, made the Atlantic crossing a short holiday trip. So it turned quickly a financial success and 1948, the United States Lines, the repurchase until then only chartered America decided.
A typical Anlantic crossing of America started in New York, reached after 5 1/2 days Cobh, Le Havre during the course of another day and 7 days Southhampton, from where it went to New York again.
From 1951 Bremerhaven was also added to this route (reached after 8 days). For the city that meant the resumption of a tradition interrupted by the war. The America was the second transatlantic luxury liner (after the small swedish Gripsholm few months earlier), that resumed regular service to New York from a German port again.
left and right: America is arriving for a second time in her live for a maiden voyage to start in New York.
America at night in Bremerhaven.
-Picture: stereoscopic reel-
Top: America in Bremerhaven, left below: America in Southampton, left center: America in the Bay of Cobh, bottom left: America in the Solent on the way to Southampton, top right: America in Bremerhaven, bottom right: America is leaving Bremerhaven; bottom : America in Le Havre
-Pictures: Postcards-
Life on board the America should be designed for the passengers as comfortable as possible. Behind the scenes caused a 670 - member crew under the command of the captain that the floating town always worked smoothly. From the bakery to the dentist there was anything on board, you could also find on land. The daily ship's newspaper, Ocean Press, the passengers held on the news stand and informed about events on board ship position and time zone changes.
The atmosphere during the in-flight entertainment programs was often formal and cultivated manner, influenced by the image of society of the 40s and 50s. An immaculate evening wear to dances in the ballroom was a given. Good mood and relaxed atmosphere spread events such as horse racing, bingo and shuffle board. In the late 50s the entertainment was greatly expanded and also for young children were more integrated into the action, so there was afternoon children's parties with balloons and cake in the ballroom.
In addition to the transatlantic service were late 40s and early 60s also cruises to the Caribbean to the tasks of America. During the 50s they were not part of the roadmap for conflicts of interest with subsidies received for the transatlantic service.

The America was a very low-noise ship. In her career with the United States Lines, there was only one major technical fault that they for several months in their builders shipyard, Newport News, forced early 1951. The Newport News Shipbuilding & Drydock Company shipyard was responsible throughout their career as America for their maintenance and repair.

During the 40s to the late 50s, the careers of America as a transatlantic liner was commercially successful. From 1952, she was on her route Society of the much larger and faster United States, which succeeded the throne of the Queen of America by the American Merchant Marine.
Despite her new sister ship, the America, but continued to argue and lost nothing of its popularity. She had a loyal following and remained the ship of diplomats, which was able to score with its elegant, less minimalist equipment against the overbearing sister ship.
Page 3: Difficult times ahead-->
America at sea.
Life onboard the America.
America in Bremerhaven with Pingelturm (jingle tower') lighthouse.
advertisement:
Mid 50s on the Atlantic.
-Picture: courtesy of Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Content


S.S. America 1946-1964

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

S.S. America 1946-1964
Am 11 November 1946 gab es eine Art Déja Vu. Zum zweiten mal innerhalb dieses Jahrzehnts lief die America in ihrem alten und neuen Heimathafen New York zu ihrer Jungfernfahrt ein und wie sechs Jahre zuvor, wurde ihr auch dieses mal wieder ein kolossaler Empfang bereitet. Eskorten aus Hafenbooten, Schleppern, Militärschiffen, Fähren, Flugzeugen und einem Luftschiff geleiteten sie in den Hafen von New York zu ihrem Anleger am Pier 86 der United States Lines. Sogar die amerikanische Präsidententochter, Margaret Truman, stattete dem Schiff zu ehren des Anlasses einen Besuch ab.
Dann endlich, am 14. November 1946, wurde die America zu dem, für was sie mit ihren schnittigen Linien, ihrem elegantem Luxus und ihrer Schnelligkeit gebaut worden war: Ein Transatlantikliner. Mit knapp über 900 Passagieren an Bord, brach das Schiff zu seiner Jungfernfahrt als Liner in Richtung Europa auf und lief planmäßig in die Häfen von Cobh, Southampton und Le Havre ein. Bis auf extrem schlechtes Wetter auf der Rückreise, welches dem Zeitplan zu schaffen machte, da die Geschwindigkeit reduziert werden musste, lief diese erste Atlantiküberquerung der America in Friedenszeiten erfolgreich und reibungslos. Die beiden fast konkurrenzlos opperierenden Queens der britischen Cunard Line hatten einen kleineren, aber würdigen Rivalen bekommen.
Seite 2: Die America als Transatlantikliner
Die America passte genau in ihre Zeit. Modernes Wohlfühl- Design, komfortable Kabinenausstattungen in allen Klassen, tadelloser und zu gleich unaufdringlicher Crew- Service, sowie eine ausgewogene Kombination aus amerikanischer und europäischer Küche. Zudem machten die zahlreichen Annehmlichkeiten an Bord wie Swimmingpool, Dampfbad, witterungsgeschützte Außendecks, viel natürliches Tageslicht durch großflächige Fensterfronten, wohnzimmerähnliche Aufenthaltsräume, Bibliotheken und großzügige Speisesäle, die Atlantiküberquerung zu einer kurzen Erholungsreise. So stellte sich dann auch schnell finanzieller Erfolg ein und 1948 entschloss sich die United States Lines, die bis dahin nur gecharterte America zurückzukaufen.
Eine typische Anlantiküberquerung der America startete in New York, erreichte nach 5 1/2 Tagen Cobh, im Laufe eines weiteren Tages LeHavre und nach 7 Tagen Southhampton, von wo aus es wieder in Richtung New York ging.
Ab 1951 wurde auch Bremerhaven mit in diese Route aufgenommen (erreicht nach 8 Tagen fahrt). Für die Stadt bedeutete das die Wiederaufnahme einer durch den Krieg verlorengegangenen Tradition. Die America war der zweite Luxusliner (nach der kleinen schwedischen Gripsholm wenige Monate zuvor), der den Liniendienst nach New York von einem deutschen Hafen wieder aufnahm.
links und rechts: Die America läuft zum zweiten mal zu ihrer Jungfernfahrt in New York ein.
Die America bei Nacht in Bremerhaven.
oben: America in Bremerhaven; links darunter: America in Southampton; links mitte: America in der Bucht von Cobh, links unten: America im Solent auf dem Weg nach Southampton, rechts oben: America in Bremerhaven; rechts unten: America verlässt Bremerhaven; unten: America in LeHavre
-Bilder: Postkarten-
Das Leben an Bord der America sollte für die Passagiere so angenehm wie möglich gestaltet werden. Hinter den Kulissen sorgte eine 670- köpfige Mannschaft unter dem Kommando des Kapitäns dafür, dass die schwimmende Kleinstadt stets reibungslos funktionierte. Vom Bäcker bis zum Zahnarzt gab es alles an Bord, was man auch an Land finden konnte. Die tägliche Bordzeitung, Ocean Press, hielt die Passagiere auf dem aktuellen Nachrichtenstand und informierte über Veranstaltungen an Bord, Schiffsposition und Zeitzonenänderungen.
Die Atmosphäre während der Bordunterhaltungsprogramme war oft formal und stets kultiviert, geprägt vom Gesellschaftsbild der 40er und 50er. Eine makellose Abendgarderobe zu Tanzabenden im Ballsaal war eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Gute Laune und gelöste Stimmung verbreiteten Veranstaltungen wie Pferderennen, Bingo oder Shufflebord. In den späten 50ern wurde das Unterhaltungsprogramm für jugendliche stark ausgebaut und auch Kinder wurden stärker ins Geschehen eingebunden, so gab es nachmittags Kinderpartys mit Luftballons und Kuchen im Ballsaal.

Neben dem Transatlantikdienst gehörten Ende der 40er und Anfang der 60er auch Kreuzfahrten in die Karibik zu den Aufgaben der America. Während der 50er waren sie wegen Interessenskonflikten mit erhaltenen Subventionen für den Transatlantikdienst nicht teil des Fahrplans.

Die America war ein sehr störungsarmes Schiff. In ihrer Karriere mit den United States Lines gab es nur einen größeren technischen Defekt, der sie Anfang 1951 für mehrere Monate in ihre Erbauerwerft, nach Newport News, zwang. Die Newport News Shipbuilding & Drydock Company- Werft war während ihrer gesamten Karriere als America für ihre Wartung und Instandhaltung zuständig.

Während der 40er bis Ende der 50er, lief die Karriere der America als Transatlantikliner wirtschaftlich erfolgreich. Ab 1952 bekam sie auf ihrer Route Gesellschaft von der wesentlich größeren und schnelleren United States, welche die America vom Thron der Königin der amerikanischen Handelsmarine ablöste.
Trotz ihres neuen Schwesterschiffes konnte sich die America aber weiterhin behaupten und büßte nichts von ihrer Beliebtheit ein. Sie hatte eine treue Anhängerschaft und blieb das Schiff der Diplomaten, welches mit seiner eleganten, weniger minimalistischen Ausstattung gegenüber dem übermächtigen Schwesterschiff punkten konnte.
Inhalt


S.S. America 1946-1964

Weiter zu Teil 3: schwierige Zeiten -->
Die America in voller Fahrt.
An Bord der America.
Die America in Bremerhaven mit Pingelturm.
Werbung:
Mitte der 50er auf dem Atlantik.
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: