Celebrities and renowned personalities aboard America
Salvador Dalí
Famous Spanish artist Salvador Dalí often traveled between the old and the new world. Ocean liner were always his first choice for traveling because he was suffering from fear of flying. The America was one of his favorite ships.
He appreciated the luxury and illustrious society on board. Equally important it was for him to have his artworks personally with him and not have to be stored away in some cargo spaces. Spacious cabins of transatlantic liners offered the best opportunities for this.

Pictures of Salvador Dalí aboard America (external links!):

Dalí on Deck next to life belt (Corbis)
Dalí aboard with his wife (Corbis)
Dalí on the sundeck (AP)
Dalí with acrylic glass ball invention in the Ball room of America (AP)
Dalí with golden suit in Ball room of America (AP)
Marlene Dietrich
Among the illustrious guests of America was the famous Hollywood diva and singer Marlene Dietrich. Especially in the late 40s, she used several times the luxurious first class of the Queen of the U.S. Merchant Marine to tavel between Europe and the USA.

Pictures of Marlene Dietrich aboard the America (external links!):
Marlene Dietrich with her daughter on deck of America (AP)
Marlene Dietrich in 1947 on Deck of America (tumblr/AP)

John F. Kennedy
In September 1958, three years before his election to U.S. President, John F. Kennedy crossed the Atlantic aboard the America. At this time he was a senator for Massachusetts in the U.S. Senate, the second chamber of parliament of the United States next to the House of Representatives.
Madeleine Albright
The U.S. Secretary of State of the Bill Clinton administration and former UN ambassador emigrated to America in 1948 aboard the America. Born under the name Marie Jana Korbelová in Czechoslovakia, then 11 - year-old Marie fled with her family after the communist coup from her home country.

Ferry und Ferdinand Alexander Porsche
Ferry Porsche and his son Fedinand traveled in November 1958 on board the America to the United States to receive a prize for their deceased father and grandfather for the Volkswagen design. The two Porsche car manufacturer bosses were acompanied by a Porsche 356 A car, brought to the USA for promotional purposes. A freighter was out of the question for the top seller of the company.

Image (external link!):
Ferry und Ferdinand Jr. Porsche with a 356 A in front of the bow of America (Porsche)

Frank Sinatra
Frank Sinatra is also said to have once been among the passengers of America and sang on the stage of the main lounge of the first class. When this was and if there was a specific reason is unknown.
(This information comes from an article in the magazine "Mare". Another source does not exist, therefore this information is not guaranteed.)

Queen Frederika
On one of the last Atlantic crossings of America in the beginning of 1964, the Greek Queen Frederika was among the ships passengers. For both, the America and the queen, the year 1964 should be the last in their respective functions. The America the former Queen of the American merchant marine, was sold to Greece in November 1964 and Frederika the Queen of the Greeks, was succession by her son on the throne.

Grace Kelly
Grace Kelly crossed the Atlantic aboard the America at least once: In July 1947 together with her sister. This was actually a few years before she got famous with movies like "High Noon", "Dial M for Murder" or "To Catch a Thief" in the early/mid 50s.

Image (external link!):
Grace Kelly and sister aboard America in 1947 (AP/ tumblr)
back to overview page -->
Ronald Reagan
Ronald Reagan was one of the first passengers of America and since a big fan of the ship. He participated in her maiden cruise in 1940. At that time he was known not as a politician but as a Hollywood actor. Reagan was immediately fascinated by the ship and asked to see the construction plans. On this basis, he began to build a wooden model of the ship, which should keep him busy for over a year in his spare time. The later 40th U.S. President about his passion for ships: "A ship is a thing of beauty- Whether it's on the high seas or on your living room table."

Another picture of Reagan on board the America (external link!):
Ronald Reagan in 1940 in America's swimming pool (Getty)
Ronald Reagan and his self made wooden model of America.
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

Stars und Persönlichkeiten an Bord der America
Salvador Dalí
Der weltbekannte spanische Künstler Salvador Dalí pendelte oft zwischen der alten und der neuen Welt. Dabei kamen für ihn hauptsächlich Ozeanliner als Transportmittel in Frage, da er unter Flugangst litt. Die America gehörte zu seinen Lieblingsschiffen.
Er schätzte den Luxus und die Gesellschaft an Bord. Ebenso wichtig war es für ihn, seine Werke persönlich bei sich zu haben und sie nicht in irgendwelchen Frachträumen verstauen zu müssen, wozu ihm die geräumigen Kabinen des Transatlantikdampfers die besten Möglichkeiten boten.

Bilder von Salvador Dalí an Bord der America (externe Links!):

Dalí an Deck neben Rettungsring (Corbis)
Dalí an Bord mit seiner Frau (Corbis)
Dalí auf dem Sonnendeck (AP)
Dalí mit Plexiglaskugel- Forbewegungs- Erfindung im Ballsaal der America (AP)
Dalí mit goldenem Anzug im Ballsaal in Kugelerfingung sitzend (AP)
Marlene Dietrich
Zu den erlauchten Gästen der America gehörte auch die Hollywooddiva und berühmte Sängerin Marlene Dietrich. Vor allem in den späten 40ern nutzte sie mehrmals die luxoriöse erste Klasse der Königin der US- Handelsmarine um nach Europa zu gelangen.

Bilder von Marlene Dietrich an Bord der America (externe Links!):
Marlene Dietrich mit ihrer Schwester an Deck der America (AP)
Marlene Dietrich 1947 an Deck der America (tumblr/AP)

John F. Kennedy
Im September 1958 überquerte der drei Jahre später zum US- Präsidenten gewählte John F. Kennedy den Atlantik an Bord der America. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war er Senator von Massachusetts im US Senat, der zweiten Parlamentskammer der USA neben dem Repräsentantenhaus.
Madeleine Albright
Die US Außenministerin unter Präsident Bill Clinton und ehemalige UNO Botschafterin emigrierte 1948 an Bord der America in die USA. Unter dem Namen Marie Jana Korbelová in der Tschechoslovakei geboren, floh die damals 10?- jährige mit ihrer Familie nach dem kommunistischen Staatsstreich aus ihrem Heimatland.

Ferry und Ferdinand Alexander Porsche
Ferry und sein Sohn Ferdinand Porsche reisten im November 1958 an Bord der America in die USA um einen Preis ihres verstorbenen Vaters bzw. Großvaters für das Volkswagendesign entgegenzunehmen. Die beiden Firmenlenker brachten einen 356 A, an Bord der America zu Promozwecken mit in die USA. Ein Frachter kam für das Aushängeschild des Konzerns nicht in Frage.

Bilder (externe Links!):
Ferry und Ferdinand Jr. am Pier der US Lines nach verlassen der America (Corbis)
Ferry und Ferdinand Jr. Porsche mit 356 A vor dem Bug der America (Porsche)
Artikel auf der Porsche Website über das 60 jährige Jubiläum des USA Geschäfts (Porsche)

Frank Sinatra
Auch Frank Sinatra soll einst zu den Passagieren der America gezählt haben und auf der Theaterbühne der großen Lounge der ersten Klasse gesungen haben. Wann und ob es einen bestimmten Anlass gab ist unbekannt.
(Diese Information stammt aus einem Artikel im Magazin "Mare". Eine Quelle liegt nicht vor, daher ist diese Information nicht gesichert.)

Queen Frederika
Auf einer der letzten Atlantiküberquerungen der America war Anfang 1964 die griechische Königin Frederika an Bord. Für beide, die America und die Königin, sollte das Jahr 1964 das letzte in ihrer jeweiligen Funktion sein. Die America, die ehemailge Königin der amerikanischen Handelsmarine, wurde im November 1964 an Griechenland verkauft und Frederika, die Königin der Griechen, wurde mit der Hochzeit ihres Sohnes von der Thronfolge abgelöst.
Zurück zur Übersicht -->
Ronald Reagan
Ronald Reagan war einer der ersten Passagiere der America und seit dem ein großer Fan des Schiffes. Er nahm 1940 an ihrer Jungfernkreuzfahrt teil. Damals war er noch nicht als Politiker, sondern als Hollywoodschauspieler bekannt. Reagan war sofort fasziniert von dem Schiff und ließ sich die Konstruktionspläne zeigen. Auf deren Grundlage begann er ein Holzmodel des Schiffes zu bauen, was ihn über ein Jahr lang in seiner Freizeit beschäftigen sollte. Der spätere 40. US Präsident über seine Leidenschaft für Schiffe: "A ship is a thing of beauty- whether it's on the high seas or on your livingroom table."

weiteres Bild von Reagan an Bord der America (externer Link!):
Ronald Reagan 1940 im Schwimmingpool der America (Getty)
Ronald Reagan mit seinem handgefertigten Modell der America.
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: