S.S. Australis 1964-1978- The "Australian Lady"
1964, the Chandris Lines, a Greek shipping company, in the process of expanding its successful line service between Europe and Australia. The business threw off strong profits and high demand led overcrowded ships. In the search for a suitable vessel to expand their fleet came the news that the prestigious America for sale stood as called. In an undisclosed action, not to call the unions on the plan, the technical director of the Chandris Lines, Demetrios Kaparis visited in the summer of '64 and the ship was struck by an all day ongoing leadership on board. The liner exactly fit into the requirements and could be easily converted for the new task.
Page 1: The Australis of Chandris Lines
Content


On 16 November 1964 was the America then sold to Chandris Lines, after the U.S. authorities had 11 days before the agreed deal. For the sale there was a requirement that the vessel for the period of next five years had to be (to which Greece was one) as a troop transport provided within NATO are available in the event of war the United States. The purchase price was U.S. $ 6.5 million. Still in place, in Newport News, the typical United States Lines paint the chimney with a strong blue and black cap was painted over, as well as the old America, which was replaced by the new name Australis. Thus, the Australis headed with black America hull in the direction of Greece.
The end of an era and the beginning of a new career section of the ship.
Australis, which means as much as Australian lady lies, already suggests its new Application: Australia. The Australis had been purchased by the Chandris Lines to transport immigrants from Europe to Australia. The business was very lucrative, as the Australian Government subsidized immigration, which made ??for derecognised ships on this route, if you like Chandris, possessed the necessary to the contract of carriage.

The ship was by far the largest of the Chandris fleet and from that point on, the flagship of the shipping company. The size of the ex-America fit exactly into the ideas of Mr. Chandris, the owner of the shipping company: "We need a ship that is able to carry over 2,000 passengers."

Thus the Australis to be the new task, extensively remodeled in the first half of the year in 1965. The passenger capacity was more than doubled, from 1,000 to 2,300 passengers. This huge increase was achieved by a subdivision of rooms, additional beds in existing cars and new cars in loading bays and former living quarters of the second class, which were no longer needed because the new Australis should be a one-class ship.
At this point she was the largest one-class passenger ship in the world.
Black Australis arrives in Piraeus, Greece. At that time she was the largest passenger ship ever to moore in the port.
-Pictures: Hellenic National Archive-
Australis shortly after her rebuild in 1965.
-Picture: Chandris Lines-
Australis in Sydney.
The goods carried by the Australis immigrants came mainly from England, Holland, Germany, Greece, Yugoslavia and Italy. The subsidies from the Australian government, of which Chandris by a corresponding contract of carriage (from 1967 this contract awarded by the Australian government even exclusively to Chandris) benefited, ensured that immigrants pay for the entire journey from Europe to Australia not more than 10 pounds had. He also guaranteed the free immigrants return to a minimum of 2 years in Australia. Many other people on board were envious of the immigrants who came to nothing to Down Under, while they had to pay full price itself. Colloquially, especially the English immigrants were therefore "10 Pound Poms" called.
But not only immigrants to Australia and New Zealand were transported. In addition to this main task also normalpreisliche line connections and world travel were offered. Passengers were able to spend either the whole trip aboard the Australis, or disembark at any port of call to travel with any other Chandris liner continue over the next two years in which the world travel ticket was valid, the journey.
This multi-function Australis always gave the greatest possible mix of passengers, travel restrictions and nationalities on their round the world. Between the nearly 9-week round the world, there were also mainly in the winter season often have the chance to use the Australis as a cruise ship. Versatile, it can not go on board a ship.
R.H.M.S. Australis 1964-1978

Page 2: Life on board, round the world voyages, cruises -->
Australis 1967 with all white livery.
-Picture: Chandris Lines-
Aerial view, mid 60s.
-Picture: Chandris Lines-
Australis in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated atm.

S.S. Australis 1964-1978- Die "australische Lady"
1964 waren die Chandris Lines, eine griechische Großreederei, gerade dabei, ihren erfolgreichen Liniendienst zwischen Europa und Australien auszubauen. Das Geschäft warf kräftige Gewinne ab und die hohe Nachfrage sorgte für überfüllte Schiffe. Auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Schiff zum Ausbau ihrer Flotte kam die Nachricht, dass die renommierte America zum Verkauf stand wie gerufen. In einer geheimgehaltenen Aktion, um die Gewerkschaften nicht auf den Plan zu rufen, besuchte der technische Direktor der Chandris Lines, Demetrios Kaparis, im Sommer '64 das Schiff und war nach einer den ganzen Tag andauernden Führung an Bord beeindruckt. Der Liner passte genau in das Anforderungsprofil und ließe sich problemlos für die neue Aufgabe umbauen.
Seite 1: Die Australis der Chandris Lines
Inhalt


Am 16. November 1964 wurde die America dann an die Chandris Lines verkauft, nachdem die US Behörden 11 Tage zuvor dem Deal zugestimmt hatten. Für den Verkauf gab es aber die Auflage, dass das Schiff für den Zeitraum der nächsten fünf Jahre im Kriegsfall den USA im Rahmen der NATO (zu der auch Griechenland gehörte) als Truppentransporter zur Verfügung gestellt werden musste. Der Kaufpreis betrug 6,5 Million US$. Noch an Ort und Stelle, in Newport News, wurde die typische United States Lines- Lackierung der Schornsteine mit einem kräftigen Blau und schwarzer Kappe übermalt, ebenso wie der alte Name America, der durch den neuen Namen Australis ersetzt wurde. So machte sich die Australis mit schwarzem America- Rumpf  auf in Richtung Griechenland.
Das Ende einer Epoche und der Beginn eines neuen Karriereabschnitts für das Schiff.

Australis, was so viel bedeutet wie australische Lady, lies ihr neues Einsatzgebiet schon erahnen: Australien. Die Australis war von den Chandris Lines gekauft worden, um Immigranten von Europa nach Australien zu befördern. Dieses Geschäft war sehr lukrativ, da die australische Regierung die Immigration subventionierte, was für ausgebuchte Schiffe auf dieser Route sorgte, sofern man, wie Chandris, den dazu notwendigen Beförderungsvertrag besaß.

Das Schiff war das mit Abstand größte der Chandris Flotte und von diesem Zeitpunkt an das Flagschiff der Reederei. Die Größe der ex-America passte genau in die Vorstellungen von Mr. Chandris, dem Eigentümer der Reederei: "Wir brauchen ein Schiff das fähig ist, über 2000 Passagiere zu befördern".

So wurde die Australis, um der neuen Aufgabe gerecht zu werden, in der ersten Jahreshälfte 1965 umfassend umgebaut. Die Passagierkapazität wurde mehr als verdoppelt, von 1000 auf 2300 Passagiere. Diese gewaltige Steigerung erreichte man durch eine Unterteilungen von Kabinen, zusätzliche Betten in bestehenden Kabinen und neuen Kabinen in Ladeschächten und ehemaligen Aufenthaltsräumen der zweiten Klasse, die jetzt nicht mehr benötigt wurden, da die neue Australis ein Ein-Klassen-Schiff werden sollte.
Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war sie damit das größte Ein-Klassen- Passagierschiff der Welt.
Die schwarze Australis fährt in den Hafen von Piraeus ein. Sie ist das bis dato größte Passagierschiff, das je dort vor Anker ging.
-Bilder: Hellenic National Archive-
Die Australis kurz nach ihrem Umbau 1965.
-Bild: Chandris Lines-
Die Australis in Sydney.
Die von der Australis beförderten Immigranten kamen hauptsächlich aus England, Holland, Deutschland, Griechenland, Jugoslavien und Italien. Die Subventionen der australischen Regierung, von denen Chandris durch einen entsprechenden Beförderungsvertrag (ab 1967 wurde dieser Vertrag von der australischen Regierung sogar exklusiv an Chandris vergeben) profitierte, sorgten dafür, dass Immigranten für die komplette Überfahrt von Europa nach Australien nicht mehr als 10 Pfund bezahlen mussten. Außerdem garantierte er den Immigranten freie Rückreise nach einem Mindestaufenthalt von 2 Jahren in Australien. Viele andere Reisende an Bord waren neidisch auf die Immigranten, welche fast umsonst nach Down Under kamen, während sie selber den vollen Preis bezahlen mussten. Umgangssprachlich wurden vor allem die englischen Immigranten deshalb auch"10 Pound Poms" genannt.
Aber nicht nur Immigranten nach Australien und Neuseeland wurden befördert. Neben dieser Hauptaufgabe wurden auch normalpreisliche Linienverbindungen und Weltreisen angeboten. Passagiere konnten dabei entweder die ganze Reise an Bord der Australis verbringen, oder an einem beliebigen Anlaufhafen der Reise aussteigen um innerhalb der nächsten zwei Jahre, in denen das Weltreiseticket gültig war, mit einem beliebigen anderen Chandris Liner die Reise fortsetzen.
Diese Mehrfachfunktion bescherte der Australis immer einen größtmöglichen Mix an Passagieren, Reisegründen und Nationalitäten auf ihren Weltumrundungen. Zwischen den knapp 9 wöchigen Weltumrundungen gab es zudem vor allem in der Wintersaison oft die Gelegenheit, die Australis als Kreuzfahrtschiff einzusetzen. Vielfältiger kann es an Bord eines Schiffes kaum zugehen.

R.H.M.S. Australis 1964-1978

Weiter zu Teil 2: Leben an Bord und mehr -->
Die Australis 1967 mit weißem Rumpf.
-Bild: Chandris Lines-
Luftbild Mitte der 60er.
-Bild: Chandris Lines-
Die Australis in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: