America's unique and distinctive funnels
The streamlined design

The basic form of the two stacks formed by the cross section of a water-drop-shaped construction, having a conventional curvature in the front region and is tapered rearwardly.
On this basis, the so-called sampan rested structure consisting of a front and rear cap is rounded square protruding fins that reminded away at the tail of an aircraft.
Directly below the sampan Kostruktion was a band running around the chimney, which gave it extra depth and another dimension and recalled the classic oval shape of the ship's smokestack first half of the twentieth century.

The design of the chimneys was streamlined, aerodynamic and gave the impression that the America even if it was anchored at full speed on the high seas traveling. On the impact of the speed of this design was deliberately been taken in the preparation, because that was what was expected of a transatlantic liner next to safety, comfort and good service.
False or real- what was the forward dummy funnel for ?

Only the rear chimney of America was real and the emission of energy production residues of the Steamboat. The call stack a dummy in the lower part of an emergency generator was housed, as well as during the australis was also a storage room. During the time as a Troopship West point behergergte the top of the dummy chimney as highest structural survey of the vessel (even higher than the Crow's nest) a lookout with 360-degree vision, provided real chimney exhaust them not disabled.
During the first half of the twentieth century the number of funnels was a symbol of strength and reliability of a ship. A chimney alone could not meet the expectations of the passengers then applicable to a large transatlantic liner.
Many other ships had until the middle of the twentieth century dummy chimneys, including such well-known as the Titanic and the Normandie.
The Sampan construction and the funnel increasing

William Francis Gibbs, the naval architect of America, set standards in design and innovation of its ships. But as it is just the way with innovation, not everything always goes as planned.

America for the very low funnels were planned in sampan article in its originally conceived design:
America's funnel on the cover of Percy Faith's "Passport to Romance" (1955)
Top of America's real (aft) funnel in Newport News. You can see the openings of the six uptakes of the boilers and two fan openings.
-Picture: United Newsreel screencap-
Problems with soot and other combustion residues depositing on the decks

The low chimneys of the original design from 1939 proved to be a bad design because they are extremely dirty and the ash and oil-laden exhaust gases could not effectively derive the decks. But even after the increase of the chimneys remained, as on many steam ships, this problem remains partially.
The combustion residues lay particularly in unfavorable wind conditions and slow speed on everything darkened the decks and could, if you were standing in the wrong place, even soil clothing. In some rare cases, they even got into the ventilation system and deteriorating air quality inside the ship.

While these annoyances on the America not so much weight many, they were the more intensive use on the outside deck Australis to a problem that could never be found a 100 percent solution. The extended rear deck structures, including a swimming pool with Lido Deck, was a central meeting place and Freizeitgestaltungsort on the Australis. Especially in this area, the deposited oil residue and ash particles were a nuisance, especially in the pool water. The sports deck just behind the chimney got a great deal from combustion residues. Every morning, had it with a fire hose be completely rinsed to be used by passengers can. To counter this, the chimney was in 1969 an increase by an essay. Since the successes they have achieved was limited, he was removed in the mid 70s.

Mechanisms to reduce the combustion residues

The problem of debris on deck was counteracted by solid technical side, but only with moderate success. The America possessed since its construction over several systems to better control the exhaust gases. The technically most elaborate were the Dustcatchers. Of the six boilers of America (three in front, three behind the engine room) ran individual riser pipes in the chimney. Here was the position of so-called dust catchers, whose task was to filter combustion residues such as ash, soot and oil particles by centrifugal force. To the flue gases were introduced from below into the dust catcher. There they passed a spiral blade mechanism that caused them to spiral to circulate. In the resulting centrifugal force ash particles and other debris were thrown out and fell on the sides of the dust catcher dust through openings in return ducts, where they fell into collecting systems by gravity down. The exhaust pipes of the six boilers were not bundled on the Dustcatchern individually and left the chimney.
The second system to reduce emissions to cover residues were fans at the chimney, which should provide additional buoyancy.
The third system was the chimney itself, the sampan construction already described above should use the air flow while driving, to generate lift for the exhaust gases.
Was the dummy funnel really in danger of collapsing when removed in 1979?

In 1979, around the ship as Italis to make in the course of renovation work again operational for passenger transport, the front dummy chimney was removed. What remained was a shapeless stump acting as one of the belles housed in the lower part of the chimney backup generator in place. The Bugle, was originally located at the top of the chimney, was simply mounted on the roof of the stump.
As justification for the partial removal of the dummy chimney ChandrisReederei gave the strong corrosion, supposedly composed by the danger of collapse.

Whether the state of the chimney was really so dramatic, can not use due to lack of sources. What is certain is that he was not in good condition cosmetically. Many rust spots and dents would need to be repaired.
Since at this time but the two chimneys Passagieremfinden to anyway were considered outdated and the Italis had to keep up with the competition of newer ships, the question about a repair not arise.
Even further was the fact that it was at Chandris plans to extend the constructions of Italis and replace both chimneys by a large new one. Although these plans were never realized then, but the dummy chimney stood in the way or path.

The remaining real chimney, which should be replaced in the long term, but it seemed much too high and uneingebunden without his twin in the remaining structures of the Italis. To mitigate this problem somewhat, the circumferential band in the upper part of the chimney was equal to the cap painted black so that the chimney look slightly lower (because wider) worked.

right: funnel in faded Italis- blue aboard Alferdoss.
-Picture: Vie et mort de l'America Standbild-

left: Australis funnels with smoke pipe extension.
-Picture: Chandris Lines-
Bach to overview page -->
The hole in the funnel of the American Star

If you looked at the remaining chimney of stranded American Star, a lot there to a large circular hole. But how it got there?. Was it decay? Islanders have there something valuable away for them? The answer may sound incredible, but it is narrated credible. It was vandalism of the Spanish military. A combat helicopter fired a missile at the highly visible target, although dozens with the dismantling of the interior were employed islanders on board at this time. The fleeing from the ship will have found all these action sure but funny. There was also a victim to complain: A hanging from ropes just grand piano fell through the horror caused in the water and sank.
The ballistic "Schorsteinsprengung" however, remained largely inconsequential. The still intact statics of the chimney was not impressed by the explosion.
Vortex dust catchers aboard America.
The "culprit" circling over the wreckage.
-Picture: Das Wrack der America/NDR-
The resulting damage.
-Picture: Das Wrack der America/NDR-
1932: Santa Rosa. rounded top, canted and vertical fins , teardrop base. White band just painted on.
1940: America. rounded top,  canted and vertical fins, teardrop base. Oval white band.
1952: United States. slightly rounded top,  fins not rectangular to funnel axis but in horizontal position, teardrop base, no vertical fin. White band just painted on.
1958: Santa Paula. very slightly rounded top,  fins not  rectangular to funnel axis but in horizontal position, oval base, no vertical fin. White band just painted on.
Infobox: Evolution of Gibbs' sampan- funnels
Original height of the funnels.
-Picture: Cropped part of advertising for Welin Lifeboats-
Origianl height: The funnels partly dissapear behind the superstructure when seen from the sports deck.
-Picture: US Lines promo-
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Advertising poster with one of America's funnels for the german market.
-Picture: United States Lines-
Rear view of funnels.
Picture: courtesy of Bill Lee (Steelways Cover 1948)
This construction should improve the flue by their aerodynamic properties and provide buoyancy to compensate for the lack of height and so can allow the low chimneys, which should drive the streamlined appearance of America to the extreme.
Sampan designs experimented with Gibbs back in the early 30s with four identical liners for the Grace Line with success, but with higher chimney structures.

In the design of low chimneys of America Gibbs, overestimated the effectiveness of the system, however, the sampan devised buoyancy was not strong enough to compensate for the lack of height. Thus, the chimneys had to be subsequently increased by 5 meters due to heavy soot deposits on the decks, which greatly altered the appearance of the ship.

A further development of the design has also been applied to the unequal sister ship, the America, the United States, by Gibbs, but this time the same in combination with very high chimneys.
Original short aft funnel of America is fitted by shipyard workers while still hanging on a crane.
-Picture: Pacific Marine Review-
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.
SAMPAN FUNNELS SPREAD THEIR WINGS

A major change in funnel design and effectiveness from the SS America to the SS United States was suggested by Howard E. Lee, Jr., a Newport News Shipbuilding engineer.

Originally the progression of the SS United States funnels in comparison to the SS America's wasn't spectacular at all: they simply would have been bigger, if constructed as originally designed. So much bigger than any of their predecessors, they were, in fact, the biggest funnels ever installed on any ocean liner in the world.

The America's original squat funnels resulted in soot deposits on passenger decks; a problem only discovered on the vesselís sea trials. Simply raising the Americaís funnels was an expedient that proved to be largely Ė but not entirely Ė successful.

Gibbsí original design of the United Statesí funnels was based on following this solution, which included making the new linerís funnels even taller. But when this theory was tested in wind tunnel models at the shipyard, the results were not as good as expected.

Thatís when young and talented NNS engineer Howard Lee offered a simple, yet extremely effective solution: Changing the angle of the funnelsí fins from being parallel to the raked funnelsí tops to a basically horizontal orientation (plus a slight slope upwards at the aft end) to provide the desired airflow uplift effect. Wind tunnel tests of his modification exceeded all expectations.

Lee's idea was the result of his experiences with building and flying model airplanes in his teen years, coupled with a later interest and proficiency in flying small aircraft. Thus, he provided one of the biggest steps in the evolution of Gibbs' sampan funnel design; a complete success when incorporated into the United Statesí funnels and those of several follow-on liners and cargo ships designed by Gibbs.
Above: Howard E. Lee, Jr. (left) studies the results of his airflow uplift  improving repositioning of the funnels squat fins during the  Big  Uís  smoke  model tests.
Left: The key difference between the SS America's and SS United States' sampan construction.

Die Schornsteine der America- einmalig und unverwechselbar
Das stromlinienförmige Design

Die Grundform der beiden Schornsteine bildete eine dem Querschnitt nach wassertropfenförmige Konstruktion, die im vorderen Bereich eine klassische Rundung aufwies und sich nach hinten verjüngte.
Auf dieser Basis ruhte die sogenannte Sampan Konstruktion, bestehend aus einer vorne angerundeten Kappe und nach hinten quadratisch überstehenden Flossen, die entfernt an das Leitwerk eines Flugzeugs erinnerten.
Direkt unterhalb der Sampan Kostruktion befand sich ein um den Schornstein laufendes Band, welches ihm zusätzliche Tiefe, sowie eine weitere Dimension verlieh und an die klassische, ovale Schiffsschornsteinform der ersten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts erinnerte.

Das Design der Schornsteine war stromlinienförmig, aerodynamisch und vermittelte den Eindruck, als sei die America selbst wenn sie vor Anker lag mit voller Fahrt auf hoher See unterwegs. Auf den Eindruck der Schnelligkeit war ganz bewusst bei der Ausarbeitung dieses Designs geachtet worden, denn genau das war es, was man von einem Transatlantikliner neben Sicherheit, Komfort und gutem Service erwartete.

Falsch oder echt- warum ein Dummy Schornstein?

Nur der hintere Schornstein der America war echt und diente der Emission von Energieerzeugungsrückständen des Dampfschiffes. Der fordere Schornstein war eine Attrappe, in deren unterem Teil ein Notgenerator untergebracht war, sowie während der Australis-Zeit auch ein Lagerraum. Während der Zeit als Truppentransporter West Point behergergte die Spitze des Dummy Schornsteins als höchste strukturelle erhebung des Schiffes (sogar höher als das Krähennest) einen Ausguck mit 360 Grad Sicht, vorrausgesetzt die Abgase des echten Schornsteins behinderten diese nicht.
Während der ersten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts galt die Zahl der Schonsteine als Symbol der Stärke und Zuverlässigkeit eines Schiffes. Ein Schornstein alleine hätte nicht den damals geltenden Erwartungen der Passagiere an einen großen Transatlantikliner entsprochen.
Auch viele andere Schiffe hatten bis in die Mitte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts Dummy-Schornsteine, unter ihnen so bekannte wie die Titanic und die Normandie.

Die Sampan Konstruktion und die nachträgliche Erhöhung der Schornsteine

William Francis Gibbs, der Konstrukteur der America, setze Maßstäbe in Design und bei Innovationen seiner Schiffe. Aber wie es mit Innovationen nun mal so ist, nicht immer läuft alles so wie geplant.

Für die America waren in ihrer ursprünglich angedachten Konstruktion sehr niedrige Schornsteine mit Sampan Aufsatz geplant:
Der echte Schornstein der America auf dem Plattencover von Percy Faiths "Passport to Romance" (1955)
Der echte Schornstein der America von oben in Newport News. Zu sehen sind die Abgasöffnungen der sechs Steigrohre der Kessel und zwei Ventilationsöffnungen.
-Bild: United Newsreel Standbild-
Probleme mit Ablagerungen auf den Decks

Die niedrigen Schornsteine des ursprünglichen Designs von 1939 erwiesen sich als Fehlkonstruktion, da sie die Decks extrem verschmutzten und die asche- und ölhaltigen Abgase nicht effektiv ableiten konnten. Aber auch nach der Erhöhung der Schornsteine blieb, wie auf vielen Dampfschiffen, dieses Problem teilweise bestehen.
Die Verbrennungsrückstände legten sich besonders bei ungünstigen Windbedingungen und langsamer Fahrt über alles, verdunkelte die Decks und konnten, wenn man an der falschen Stelle stand, sogar die Kleidung verschmutzen. In seltenen Ausnahmefällen gelangten sie sogar in das Lüftungssystem und verschlechterten die Luftqualität im Inneren des Schiffes.

Während diese Ärgerlichkeiten auf der America noch nicht so stark ins Gewicht vielen, wurden sie durch die intensivere Außendecknutzung auf der Australis zu einem Problem, für das nie eine 100 prozentige Lösung gefunden werden konnte. Die hinteren erweiterten Deckaufbauten, inklusive Swimmingpool mit Lidodeck, waren ein zentraler Treffpunkt und Freizeitgestaltungsort auf der Australis. Gerade in diesem Bereich waren die sich ablagernden Ölrückstande und Aschepartikel ein Ärgernis, besonders im Poolwasser. Auch das Sportdeck direkt hinter dem Schornstein bekam besonders viel Verbrennungsrückstände ab. Jeden Morgen musste es mit einem Feuerwehrschlauch komplett abgespült werden um von Passagieren benutzt werden zu können. Um dem entgegenzuwirken, erhielt der Schornstein 1969 eine Erhöhung durch einen Aufsatz. Da sich die damit erzielten Erfolge in Grenzen hielten, wurde er Mitte der 70er wieder entfernt.

Mechanismen zur Reduzierung der Abgasbelastung der Decks

Dem Problem der Ablagerungen an Deck wurde von technischer Seite Massiv entgegengewirkt, allerdings nur mit mäßigem Erfolg. Die America verfügte seit ihrem Bau über mehrere Systeme zur besseren Kontrolle der Abgase. Das technisch aufwändigste waren die Dustcatcher. Von den sechs Kesseln der America (drei vor, drei hinter dem Maschinenraum) liefen einzelne Steigrohre in den Schornstein. Hier befanden sich die sogenannten dust catcher (Staubfänger), deren Aufgabe es war, Verbrennungsrückstände wie Asche, Ruß und Ölpartikel durch Fliegkraft herauszufiltern. Dazu wurden die Rauchgase von unten in die dust catcher eingeleitet. Dort passierten sie einen spiralförmigen Schaufelmechanismus, der sie dazu brachte, spiralförmig zu zirkulieren. Bei der dadurch entstehenden Fliegkraft wurden Aschepartikel und andere Rückstände herausgeschleudert und fielen an den Seiten des dust catchers über Öffnungen in Staubrückführungskanäle, wo sie durch die Schwerkraft nach unten in Auffangsysteme fielen. Die Abgasrohre der sechs Kessel wurden auch über den Dustcatchern nicht gebündelt und verließen einzeln den Schornstein.
Das zweite System zur Reduzierung der Emmisionsrückstände an Deck waren Ventilatoren am Schornstein, die für zusätzlichen Auftrieb sorgen sollten.
Das dritte System war der Schornstein selbst. Die schon oben beschriebene Sampan- Konstruktion sollte den Luftstrom während der Fahrt nutzen, um Auftrieb für die Abgase zu erzeugen.
Der Dummy-Schornstein- Bestand wirklich Einsturzgefahr?

1979, im Zuge der Renovierungsarbeiten um das Schiff als Italis wieder für den Passagiertransport einsatzfähig zu machen, wurde der vordere Dummy-Schornstein entfernt. Übrig blieb ein unförmig wirkender Stumpf, da man den im unteren Teil des Schornsteins untergebrachten Notgenerator an Ort und Stelle belies. Das Signalhorn, das sich ursprünglich an der Spitze des Schornsteins befand, wurde einfach auf dem Dach dieses Stumpfes montiert.
Als Begründung für das teilweise Entfernen des Dummy-Schornsteins gab die ChandrisReederei die starken Durchrostungen an, durch die angeblich Einsturzgefahr bestand.

Ob der Zustand des Schornsteines wirklich so dramatisch war, lässt sich aufgrund fehlender Quellen nicht belegen. Sicher ist aber, dass er kosmetisch in keinem guten Zustand war. Zahlreiche Durchrostungen und Verbeulungen hätten repariert werden müssen.
Da zu dieser Zeit aber zwei Schornsteine dem Passagieremfinden nach eh als veraltet galten und die Italis mit der Konkurrenz neuerer Schiffe mithalten musste, stellte sich die Frage nach einer Reparatur nicht.
Weiter kam noch hinzu, dass es bei Chandris Pläne gab, die Aufbauten der Italis zu erweitern und beide Schornsteine durch einen großen neuen zu ersetzen. Diese Pläne wurden dann zwar nie realisiert, aber der Dummy-Schornstein stand so oder so im Weg.

Der verbleibende, echte Schornstein, der langfristig ersetzt werden sollte, wirkte aber ohne seinen Zwilling viel zu hoch und uneingebunden in die restlichen Aufbauten der Italis. Um dieses Problem etwas zu entschärfen, wurde das umlaufende Band im oberen Teil des Schornsteins gleich der Kappe schwarz gestrichen, so dass der Schornstein optisch leicht niedriger (da breiter) wirkte.

rechts: Schornstein im verblichenen Italis Farbschema an Bord der Alferdoss.
-Bild: Vie et mort de l'America Standbild-

links: Schornsteine der Australis mit Aufsatz.
-Bild: Chandris Lines-
Zurück zur Übersicht -->
Das Loch im Schornstein der American Star

Wenn man den verbliebenen Schornstein der gestrandeten American Star betrachtete, viel dort ein großes, kreisrundes Loch auf. Aber wie kam es dorthin?. War es Verfall? Haben Insulaner dort etwas für sie wertvolles entfernt? Die Antwort klingt unglaublich, ist aber glaubwürdig überliefert. Es war Vandalismus des spanischen Militärs. Ein Kampfhubschrauber schoss eine Rakete auf den gut sichtbaren Zielpunkt, obwohl sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt dutzende mit der Demontage der Inneneinrichtung beschäftigte Insulaner an Bord befanden. Die vom Schiff flüchtenden werden diese Aktion sicher alles andere als lustig gefunden haben. Ein Opfer gab es auch zu beklagen: Ein gerade an Seilen hängender Konzertflügel fiel durch den verursachten Schrecken ins Wasser und versank.
Die ballistische "Schorsteinsprengung" hingegen blieb weitgehend folgenlos. Die noch immer intakte Statik des Schornsteins ließ sich nicht von der Explosion beeindrucken.
Dust Catcher der Firma Vortex an Bord der America.
Der "Übeltäter" kreist über dem Wrack.
-Bild: Das Wrack der America/NDR-
Der entstandene Schaden.
-Bild: Das Wrack der America/NDR-
1932: Santa Rosa. Vorne abgerundete Kappe und nach hinten quadratisch überstehende Flossen. Weißes Band nur aufgemalt.
1940: America. Vorne abgerundete Kappe und nach hinten quadratisch überstehende Flossen. Zusätzlich ovales weißes Band.
1952: United States. Leicht abgerundete Kappe und nach oben weisende quadratisch überstehende Flossen. Weißes Band nur aufgemalt.
1958: Santa Paula. Kaum abgerundete Kappe und kleine, sehr weit oben angesetzte, quadratisch überstehende Flossen. Weißes Band nur aufgemalt.
Infobox: Die Evolution von William F. Gibbs' Sampan- Schornsteinen
Ursprüngliche Höhe der Schornsteine.
-Bild: Ausschnitt aus alte Werbeanzeige für Welin Rettungsboote-
Ursprüngliche Höhe: Die Schornsteine verschwinden vom Sportdeck aus teilweise hinter den Aufbauten.
-Bild: US Lines-
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
Werbung mit dem Schornsteinprofil der America für den deutschen Markt.
-Bild: United States Lines-
Heckansicht der Schornsteine
Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee (Steelways Cover 1948)
Diese Konstruktion sollte den Rauchabzug durch ihre aerodynamischen Eigenschaften verbessern und für Auftrieb sorgen, um die fehlende Höhe ausgleichen zu können und so die niedrigen Schornsteine ermöglichen, welche die stromlinienförmige Erscheinung der America auf die Spitze treiben sollten.
Mit Sampan Konstruktionen experimentierte Gibbs schon Anfang der 30er bei vier Baugleichen Linern für die Grace-Line mit Erfolg, allerdings mit höheren Schornsteinkonstruktionen.

Bei der Konstruktion der niedrigen Schornsteine der America überschätzte Gibbs die Effektivität des Sampan Systems jedoch, der erdachte Auftrieb war nicht stark genug um die fehlende Höhe auszugleichen. So mussten die Schornsteine nachträglich wegen starken Rußablagerungen auf den Decks um 5 Meter erhöht werden, was das Erscheinungsbild des Schiffes stark veränderte.

Eine Weiterentwicklung der Konstruktion ist auch bei dem ungleichen Schwesterschiff der America, der United States, von Gibbs angewandt worden, allerdings diesmal gleich in Kombination mit sehr hohen Schornsteinen.

Der noch am Kran hängende echte (hintere) Schornstein der America in seiner ursprünglichen Höhe wird eingepasst.
-Bild: Pacific Marine Review-
English version here:
Die Sampan- Schornsteine bekommen Flügel

Eine große Änderung des Schornsteindesigns der SS United States im Vergleich zur SS America, welches den Auftrieb der Sampan konstruktion wesentlich effektiver wereden ließ, wurde von einem Newport Newser Schiffsbauingenieur, Howard E. Lee Jr. vorgeschlagen.

Der Ursprünglich geplante Unterschied zwischen dem Schornsteindesign der America und der United States war nicht besonders spektakulär: Die Schornsteine sollten einfach nur größer ausfallen. So viel größer das sie die größten Schornsteine eines Ozeanliners welche jemals gebaut wurden werden sollten.

Die originalen kurzen Schornsteine der America verursachten Rußablagerungen auf ihren Außendecks. Sie einfach zu erhöhen erwies sich als größtenteils, aber nicht vollständig zufriedenstellend.

Gibbs' ursprüngliches Design für die Schornsteine des Superliners United States beruhte trotzdem genau auf dieser Lösung, nur eben noch eine Nummer größer. Tests im Windtunnel der Werft zeigten aber den geringen Wirkungsgrad dieser Maßnahme.

In dieser Situation schlug Howard Lee eine einfache aber extrem wirkungsvolle Lösung vor: Der Winkel der nach hinten überstehenden Sampan- ??? müssten von einer rechtwinklig zur Schornsteinachse in eine horizontale Ausrichtung mit einer leichten Aufwärtsneigung gebracht werden um den gewünschten Auftrieb zu erzielen. Windtunnel Tests mit diesem Änderungsvorschlag übertrafen alle Erwartungen.

Lees Idee war das Resultat seiner Erfahrungen mit dem Bauen und Fliegen von Modellflugzeugen zu seiner Jugendzeit, verbunden mit einem späteren Interesse kleine Flugzeuge selber zu fliegen.
So sorgte er mit seinem Vorschlag für die größten Innovationen in der Evolution von Gibbs Sampan Schornstein Design welcher nicht nur bei der United States, sondern auch bei einer Reihe von Frachtschiffen verwirklicht wurde.

Oben: Howard E. Lee, Jr. (links) begutachtet das Resultat der Umsetzung seines Vorschlags zur auftriebverbessernden Neuausrichtung der Flossen bei einem Strömungsmodelltest der SS United States.
Links: Der Entscheidende Unterschied zwischen den Flossen der Schornsteine der SS America und SS United States: Flossen parallel zum Schornstein vs. FLossen parallel zum Horizont.