America- a money pit?
The econonic surroundings at the time of the America's commissioning was everything but great.
The Leviathan (the former Vaterland of Hapag), flagship of the United States Lines, the time was the largest money looser of the shipping company. Already Atlantic crossings where the ship import a loss less than $ 75,000, were considered a success.
After the United States Lines had got rid of the unprofitable, aging Superliner to a scrap dealer with the promise of the government to put a new liner (to America) in order, everything was try to delay this procurement and construction, as one of Pages the shipping company saw no need for a new liner.
Only with threats of massive fines by the U.S. government began after several years of stonewalling with the construction of America. During the development costs increased for the new ship above the level of the previously calculated as price and then also the second World War II broke out and the scheduled transatlantic service of America could not be included, asked to be allowed to United States Lines withdraw the participating in the construction and a substantial proportion of the cost state Maritime Comission of the purchase and the ship not to have to accept that remained without success. Thus paid the U.S. dollar immediately Lines 2,396,629 and 7,328,140 more dollars on a mortgage. The Maritime Comission took over the rest (7,861,709 dollars) in construction costs in the total amount of 17,586,478 dollars.
This information is penetrated to the press, after which America made headlines as an unwanted vessel and as a proverbial "white elephant". An extremely inglorious start for a new liner. The more you had to strive by the shipping company now, not to aggravate the situation even further and continued from that point everything in the picture to the public via the America to vote positively again. The highlight of this publicity campaign was organized by the United States Lines journey from Newport News to New York on her maiden voyage with grandiose entrance to New York Harbor and much of invited celebrities, distributed throughout the city flag and a big party. The strategy worked and soon the negative headlines in public were forgotten.

International shipping company changed but not change the fact that America took care of the biggest hole in the balance sheets. During her short cruise episode before the USA entered the war, the ship was a total loss of about $ 1.2 million. The cruises were even at full retirement below the capacity limit of the ship because of the economy class cabin remained unused and so they brought only $ 76,000 in a section. This was offset by expenses of $ 120,000 for salaries, food, fuel, maintenance costs, port fees and other expenses per trip. Due to the massive subsidies the U.S. government for America While these losses were partially offset, however, remained under the dash a red minus.
In this context, it is also about understanding that in the United States Lines no mourning mood arose when the troop was recruited as a West Point military service to America. Not only that, the shipping company got rid of its biggest loss factor, they also received another high compensation and salary increases of 10% for executives.

After the war, America was in the possession of the State Maritime Comission and taken back by costly restorations in their Original status. The costs for the restoration of America as a luxury liner rose to new heights, at the end to over 7 million dollars and so no buyer could be found who was willing to invest. The United States Lines were also not interested in a buy-back. Only after far-reaching promises of Maritime Comission to bear part of the cost when the U.S. Lines pay off a substantial portion of the net profits to the Maritime Comission in return and after an increase in government subsidies, the United States Lines were willing to sign a charter agreement .
The following years would now be the most profitable for the America of her career as flagship of the United States Lines. In the late 40s, the shipping company bought back due to the success of the ship. For the period of the late '40s and much of the 50s America was one of the most profitable passenger ships, which the United States Lines ever operation.
This phase success continued into the late 50s. Falling passenger numbers brought the subsidized ship but especially from 1958 onwards further and further into the red. And rising salaries by strong unions (up to 75% higher than the competition ships of Cunard, Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth) and regular strikes, the situation deteriorated rapidly until nothing remained but the America for sale.

With this balance, the America shares the fate of many transatlantic liners, whose stories are often strikingly similar, from a financial point of view. Almost none of the prestigious flagship of their nations permanently posted solid gains towards the end of transatlantic liner era. Most were not viable without massive subsidies.

More on the financial situation of America in the late 50s and 60s, as well as in their later careers in the respective chapters.
America in Bremerhaven.
-Picture: Postcard-
further reading:
Back to overview page -->
America in Bremerhaven.
-Picture: Postcard-
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

Die America- ein Kostengrab?
Die Vorzeichen für den Bau und die Indienststellung der America fielen in kein gutes Licht.
Die Leviathan (die einstige Vaterland der HAPAG), Flagschiff der United States Lines, war seinerzeit der größte Geldvernichter der Reederei. Schon Atlantiküberquerungen auf denen das Schiff einen Verlust kleiner als 75.000 Dollar einfuhr, galten als Erfolg.
Nachdem die United States Lines den unrentablen, alternden Superliner an einen Schrotthändler mit dem Versprechen an die Regierung losgeworden war, einen neuen Liner (die America) in Auftrag zu geben, wurde alles Versucht, um diese Auftragsvergabe und den Bau hinauszuzögern, da man von Seiten der Reederei keine Notwendigkeit für einen neuen Liner sah.
Erst mit Androhungen massiver Geldstrafen seitens der US Regierung wurde nach mehrjähriger Hinhaltetaktik mit dem Bau der America begonnen. Während der Entstehung stiegen die Kosten für das neue Schiff über das Niveau des vorher errechneten Preises und als dann auch noch der 2. Weltkrieg ausbrach und der planmäßige Transatlantikdienst der America nicht aufgenommen werden konnte, baten die United States Lines die am Bau und einem erheblichen Teil der Kosten beteiligte staatliche Maritime Comission vom Kauf zurücktreten zu dürfen und das Schiff nicht annehmen zu müssen, was allerdings ohne Erfolg blieb. So bezahlten die US Lines 2,396,629 Dollar sofort und weitere 7,328,140 Dollar über eine Hypothek. Die Maritime Comission übernahm den Rest (7,861,709 Dollar) der Baukosten in Gesamthöhe von 17,586,478 Dollar.
Diese Informationen drangen an die Presse, woraufhin die America Schlagzeilen als ungewolltes Schiff und als sprichwörtlicher "weißer Elefant" machte. Ein äußerst unrühmlicher Start für einen neuen Liner. Umso mehr musste man sich seitens der Reederei nun bemühen, die Situation nicht noch weiter zu verschlimmern und setzte ab diesem Zeitpunkt alles daran, das Bild der Öffentlichkeit über die America wieder positiv zu stimmen. Höhepunkt dieser Publicitykampagne war die von den United States Lines durchorganisierte Fahrt von Newport News nach New York vor ihrer Jungfernfahrt mit pompöser Einfahrt in den New Yorker Hafen und viel eingeladener Prominenz, in der ganzen Stadt verteilten Fähnchen und einem großen Fest. Die Strategie ging auf und schon bald waren die Negativschlagzeilen in der Öffentlichkeit vergessen.

Reedereiintern änderte sich aber nichts an der Tatsache, dass die America für das größte Loch in den Bilanzen sorgte. Während ihrer kurzen Kreuzfahrtepisode vor dem Kriegseintritt der USA fuhr das Schiff insgesamt Verluste von über 1.200.000 Dollar ein. Die Kreuzfahrten waren selbst bei voller Ausbuchung unterhalb der Kapazitätsgrenze des Schiffes, da Kabinen der Touristenklasse ungenutzt blieben und so brachten sie im Schnitt nur 76.000 Dollar ein. Dem gegenüber standen Ausgaben von 120.000 Dollar für Löhne, Essen, Treibstoff, Instandhaltungskosten, Hafengebühren und weitere Ausgaben pro Fahrt. Durch die massiven Subventionen der US Regierung für die America wurden diese Verluste zwar teilweise ausgeglichen, dennoch blieb unter dem Strich ein rotes Minus.

In diesem Zusammenhang ist es auch zu Verstehen, dass bei den United States Lines keine Trauerstimmung aufkam, als die America zum Militärdienst als Truppentransporter West Point eingezogen wurde. Nicht nur das die Reederei ihren größten Verlustfaktor loswurde, sie erhielt auch noch hohe Entschädigungszahlungen und Gehaltserhöhungen von 10 % für leitende Angestellte.

Nach Kriegsende war die America in Besitz der staatlichen Maritime Comission und wurde durch aufwendige Restaurierungen wieder in ihren Ursprünglichen Zustand gebracht. Auch die Kosten für die Wiederherstellung der America als Luxusliner stiegen in ungeahnte Höhen, am Ende auf über 7 Millionen Dollar und so konnte kein Käufer gefunden werden, der bereit war zu investieren. Die United States Lines waren ebenfalls nicht an einem Rückkauf interessiert. Erst nach weitreichenden Zusagen der Maritime Comission einen Teil der Kosten zu tragen, wenn die US Lines im Gegenzug einen erheblichen Teil der Netto- Gewinne an die Maritime Comission auszahlen und nach einer Erhöhung von staatlichen Subventionen waren die United States Lines bereit, einen Chartervertrag zu unterschreiben.
Die nun folgenden Jahre sollten für die America die profitabelsten ihrer Karriere als Flagschiff der United States Lines werden. In den späten 40ern kaufte die Reederei aufgrund des Erfolges das Schiff zurück. Für die Zeit der späten 40er und weite Teile der 50er war die America eines der profitabelsten Passagierschiffe, welches die United States Lines jemals betrieb.
Diese Erfolgsphase hielt bis in die späten 50er an. Sinkende Passagierzahlen brachten das subventionierte Schiff aber besonders ab 1958 immer weiter in die Verlustzone. Bei gleichzeitig steigenden Gehältern durch starke Gewerkschaften (bis zu 75% höher als auf den Konkurrenzschiffen der Cunard Reederei, Queen Mary und Queen Elizabeth) und regelmäßigen Streiks verschlimmerte sich die Situation zusehends, bis nichts anderes übrig blieb, als die America zu Verkaufen.

Mit dieser Bilanz teilt die America das Schicksal vieler Transatlantikliner, deren Geschichten sich aus finanzieller Sicht oft verblüffend ähneln. Fast keiner von den prestigeträchtigen Aushängeschildern ihrer Nationen erwirtschaftete gegen Ende der  Transatlantiklinerära dauerhaft solide Gewinne. Die meisten waren ohne massive Subventionen nicht überlebensfähig.

Mehr zur finanziellen Situation der America in den späten 50ern und 60ern, sowie in ihren späteren Karrieren in den jeweiligen Kapiteln.


Die America in Bremerhaven.
Bild: Postkarte
weiteres zum Thema:
Zurück zur Übersicht -->
America in Bremerhaven.
Bild: Postkarte
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: