Recommended books and DVDs
Vie et Mort de l'America
(Life and death of America)

Highly recommended, although French-language documentation from the 90s. With a prior knowledge about the vessel and optionally present French school, can well follow the content. Even if one has not French, it's worth it just because of the extensive footage and interviews, the English, which you can hear a little more effort in the French translation.

The documentation shows exterior and interior shots of the Alferdoss early 90s and links these with chronological flashbacks to the history of the ship.
Among other things to see are pictures of the construction in Newport News and the baptism of West Point, the America with a detailed description of life on board the Australis with a baptism ceremony in the ballroom and the equator, and the American Star.
Is accompanied with all the respective "career section" appropriate music and matching mood.

The many interviews are very interesting, including the following topics:


However, one must be careful in this documentation part, which recordings are reproduced and which are not. Recordings from the conversion of America to Australis and the repair after the fire in 1970 show the Ile de France. Even the shots are shown of life on board the America, comes in part from another ship. Similarly, the trailing scene of stormy January night when they are not shooting at the Neftegaz and the American Star.
The reason for this is that many of these events, no recordings exist or were not available.
Running time: ~ 51 minutes.

There is a German translation (title: America  Schicksal eines Luxusliners) which was done in context of the documentary "The Wreck of America" to give a better understanding of the ship's history before the wreck doku aired. However, this version is shortened.

Availability:
The original French version is available in the DVD collection "Navires de Légendes".
The German version is no longer acquirable on the instantaneous state of knowledge.

Das Wrack der America (The wreck of the America)

Also highly recommended, German-language documentary focusing on the events surrounding the ship after his shipwreck.

The documentary is partly filmed aboard the American Star in 1999, as well as amateur footage of the vessel during the first years after the shipwreck and plunder are to be seen.
All historical imagery in this documentation comes from the French documentary "Vie et Mort de l'America", the recordings of the American Star at the beginning of the document and right after the accident as well.

The question of the inconsistencies associated with the stranding followed is raised in this documentary verified by an interview with the former head of the Port Authority of Fuerteventura.
In the second half of the film that deals with the fate of the interior, some "looters" show their collections and safed equipment from the ship.
It also features a reported plan to salvage the wreck, which, however, proved to be unworkable.
Towards the end, the wreck is looked at an artistic point of view. A local resident artist prepares, accompanied by the film crew, a light installation on board before. THe documentary end with the fully lit ship in the sunset filled beach.
Running time: ~ 43 minutes

Availability:
The documentation is available at the recording service of the public NDR TV-channel. More details on the webpages of the NDR.
The Chandris Liners and Celebrety Cruises by Peter Plowman

This very detailed, researched, English-language book gives an overview of the Chandris fleet with many color photos, background information and deck plans. With this, the Australis, whose history is devoted a whole chapter, starting with its construction as America. Distributed over the whole book, you will find more information and pictures about the unique Australis and the fate of the American Star.
The book can be partially viewed at Google Books and is available commercially:

Availability:
ISBN-10: 1877058475

Steamboat Bill special edition of summer 1990: "America- To the Ocean with Foam"

This special issue of the American magazine Steamboat Bill is devoted entirely to America. At over 100 pages there is plenty of interesting facts and interesting pictures from their time in front of the ship in 1964.

Availability:
Online auctions or directly from the Steamship Historical Society of America.
The Chandris Liners by William H. Miller

This book is in a similar manner an overview of the Chandris fleet as it makes the book "The Chandris Lines and Celebrity Cruises", but in a more compact form. This book has unique photos to offer and is written very interesting. In some areas it served as a source for the above-mentioned book "The Chandris Liners and Celebrity Cruises."

Availability:
No longer in print. Antique dealers, online auction houses.
S.S. America U.S.S. West Point S.S. Australis- The Many lives of a great ship by Lawrence Driscoll

This book goes back a step before the construction of America started and also lights up the presettings of  the actual history of America  in full detail in the form of the establishment of American passenger fleet of United States Lines from former German liners with a focus on the Leviathan, which influenced the development of the America in different ways. The focus of this book is clearly on the early years of America before 1964 (about ¾ of the book). There are particularly detailed chapters on their history, construction, their military service and their time as a transatlantic liner.
Interesting addition to the chronological history of the ship built, the many scattered anecdotes and reports of passengers, the crew and others, which make the written history of America alive. The idea of the ship and life onboard is transported primarily by the text. Nevertheless, over 100 images accompany the writing well.
Newport News Shipyard Bulletin, September 1946

This issue of the journal of the builder's yard of America reports with numerous pictures and information about the restoration of America after the war service.
Renewal Parts- S.S. AMERICA Agonie eines Kolosses (Agony of a colossus) by  Klaus Berends

This german written book is a sort of accompaniment to Klaus Berend's eponymous traveling exhibition about the America. The Living on Fuerteventura artist transformed numerous large and small findings of the stranded ship in ambiguous art objects, which demonstrate, among other things, the transience of the ship and its history. In addition to various levels of interpretation of his work and the emergence of the art, the motivation of the artist and the selection of materials and symbolic level is recorded. Also be found at the end of a summary of the history of the ship. Many photographs complete the insight that one receives in this unique work.
The traveling exhibition was scheduled to start all ports which the America has driven in her careers.
Marine Engineering and Shipping Review, August 1940

A look behind the scenes. Published this month in the first cruise of the special edition of America magazine for marine engineers and shipyards deals on over 100 pages in detail with the new ship. Numerous technical details, plans, diagrams and illustrations form mainly on the technical side of America, but also their interior design. Countless advertisements from suppliers show the enormous range of companies and therefore workers who were involved in the development of America, each operating proud of its innovative contribution to the overall work. This journal is for those interested in America with attention to detail. It gives a comprehensive picture of the complexity that goes into a passenger ship is to provide some advance technical knowledge to follow the explanation. In addition to this journal is the similar (partially identical) documentation in other journals of the year, including: "Marine News", "The Nautical Gazette" and "The Shipbuilder and Marine Engine-builder".
back to overview page -->
advertisement:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:

Buch und DVD Empfehlungen
Vie et Mort de l'America
(Leben und Tod der America)

Sehr zu empfehlende, allerdings französischsprachige Dokumentation aus den 90ern. Mit einem Vorwissen über das Schiff und gegebenenfalls vorhandenem Schulfranzösisch, lässt sich dem Inhalt gut folgen. Auch wenn man kein französisch beherrscht, lohnt es sich allein wegen dem umfassenden Bildmaterial und den englischsprachigen Interviews, die man mit etwas Mühe unter der französischen Übersetzung heraushören kann.

Die Dokumentation zeigt Außen- und Innenaufnahmen der Alferdoss Anfang der 90er und verknüpft diese mit chronologischen Rückblenden der Geschichte des Schiffes.
Zu sehen sind dabei unter anderem Aufnahmen vom Bau in Newport News und der Taufe, der West Point, der America mit ausführlicher Beschreibung des Bordlebens, der Australis mit Taufe im Ballsaal und Äquatorfeier, sowie der American Star.
Untermalt wird das ganze mit zum jeweiligen "Karriereabschnitt" passender Musik und passender Stimmung.

Auch die vielen Interviews sind äußerst interessant, unter anderem zu folgenden Themen:


Man muss bei dieser Dokumentation allerdings teilweise aufpassen, welche Aufnahmen nachgestellt sind und welche nicht. Aufnahmen vom Umbau der America zur Australis sowie vom Instandsetzen nach dem Feuer 1970 zeigen die Ile de France. Auch die Aufnahmen, die zum Leben an Bord der America gezeigt werden, stammen teilweise von einem anderen Schiff. Ebenso die nachgestellte Szene der stürmischen Januarnacht bei der es sich nicht um Aufnahmen der Neftegaz und der American Star handelt.
Grund dafür ist, dass zu vielen dieser Ereignisse keine Aufnahmen existieren oder verfügbar waren.
Laufzeit: ~51 Minuten.

Es existiert auch eine deutsche Übersetzung (Titel: America- Schicksal eines Luxusliners) die im Rahmen der Dokumentation "Das Wrack der America" ausgestrahlt wurde. Allerdings ist diese Version gekürzt.

Verfügbarkeit:
Die französische Originalversion ist in der Dokusammlung "Navires de Légendes" auf DVD erhältlich.
Die deutsche Fassung ist nach momentanem Wissensstand nicht mehr erwerbbar.

Das Wrack der America

Auch sehr zu empfehlende, deutschsprachige Dokumentation mit Schwerpunkt auf den Ereignissen um das Schiff nach seiner Strandung.

Zu sehen sind Aufnahmen an Bord der American Star 1999, sowie Amateuraufnahmen des Schiffes während der ersten Jahre nach der Strandung und der Plünderung.
Sämtliches historisches Bildmaterial dieser Dokumentation stammt von der französischen Dokumentation "Vie et Mort de l'America", auch die Aufnahmen der American Star am Anfang der Doku, direkt nach dem Unglück.

Es wird der Frage nach den Ungereimtheiten im Zusammenhang mit der Strandung nachgegangen, dazu gibt es auch ein Interview mit dem damaligen Leiter des Hafenamtes von Fuerteventura.
Im zweiten Abschnitt des Films, der sich mit dem Verbleib der Inneneinrichtung beschäftigt, präsentieren einige Plünderer ihre Sammlungen an Ausstattungsgegenständen des Schiffes.
Es wird außerdem noch von einem Plan das Wrack zu bergen berichtet, welcher sich jedoch als undurchführbar erwies.
Gegen Ende wird das Wrack unter künstlerischem Aspekt betrachtet. Ein Ortsansässiger Künstler bereitet, begleitet vom Filmteam, eine Lichtinstallation an Bord vor, mit deren Erstrahlen die Doku endet.
Laufzeit: ~43 Minuten

Verfügbarkeit:
Die Dokumentation ist über den Mitschnittservice des NDR erhältlich. Weitere Details auf den Seiten des NDR.

The Chandris Liners and Celebrety Cruises von Peter Plowman

Dieses sehr detailreich recherchierte, englischsprachige Buch gibt einen Überblick über die Chandris Flotte mit vielen Farbfotos, Hintergrundinformationen und Deckplänen. Mit dabei auch die Australis, deren Geschichte ein ganzes Kapitel gewidmet wird, startend mit ihrer Konstruktion als America. Über das ganze Buch verteilt, finden sich weitere Informationen und einzigartige Bilder über die Australis und das Schicksal der American Star.
Das Buch kann teilweise bei Google Books eingesehen werden und ist im Handel erhältlich:

Verfügbarkeit:
ISBN-10: 1877058475

Die Steamboat Bill Sonderausgabe des Sommers 1990: "America- To the Ocean with Foam"

Diese Sonderausgabe des amerikanischen Magazins Steamboat Bill ist ganz der America gewidmet. Auf über 100 Seiten findet sich viel wissenswertes und interessante Bilder des Schiffes aus ihrer Zeit vor 1964.

Verfügbarkeit:
Onlineauktionshäuser oder direkt über die Steamship Historical Society of America.

The Chandris Liners von William H. Miller

Dieses englischsprachige Buch gibt in einer ähnlichen Weise einen Überblick über die Chandris Flotte wie es das Buch "The Chandris Lines and Celebrity Cruises" macht, jedoch im kompakterer Form. Auch dieses Buch hat einzigartige Fotos zu bieten und ist sehr interessant geschrieben. In einigen Bereichen diente es als Vorlage für das oben erwähnte Buch "The Chandris Liners and Celebrity Cruises".

Verfügbarkeit:
Nicht mehr im Druck. Antiquariate, Onlineauktionshäuser.
S.S. America U.S.S. West Point S.S. Australis- The Many lives of a great ship von Lawrence Driscoll

Dieses Buch holt weit aus und beleuchtet neben der eigentlichen Geschichte der America auch ausführlichst ihre Vorgeschichte in Form der Entstehung der amerikanischen Passagierflotte der United States Lines aus ehemals deutschen Linern mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der Leviathan, welche die Entstehung der America auf unterschiedliche Weisen beeinflusste. Der Schwerpunkt dieses Buches liegt eindeutig auf den frühen Jahren der America vor 1964 (ungefähr ¾ des Buches). Besonders detailliert sind die Kapitel über ihre Vorgeschichte, den Bau, ihren Kriegsdienst und ihre Zeit als Transatlantikliner.
Interessant sind neben der chronologisch aufgebauten Geschichte des Schiffes auch die vielen eingestreuten Anekdoten und Berichte von Passagieren, der Mannschaft und anderen, welche die geschriebene Historie der America lebendig werden lassen. Das Bild des Schiffes und des Lebens an Bord transportiert sich vorrangig durch den Text. Trotzdem  begleiten die über 100 Bilder das geschriebene gut.
Newport News Shipyard Bulletin vom September 1946

Diese Ausgabe der eigenen Zeitschrift der Erbauerwerft der America berichtet mit zahlreichen Bildern und Informationen über die Wiederherstellung der America nach dem Kriegsdienst.
Renewal Parts- S.S. AMERICA Agonie eines Kolosses von Klaus Berends

Dieses Buch ist eine Art Begleitung zu Klaus Berends gleichnamiger Wanderausstellung über die America. Der auf Fuerteventura lebende Künstler verwandelte zahlreiche große und kleine Fundstücke des gestrandeten Schiffes in vieldeutige Kunstobjekte, welche unter anderem die Vergänglichkeit des Schiffes und seiner Geschichte aufzeigen. Neben verschiedenen Interpretationsebenen seines Werkes ist auch die Entstehung der Kunstwerke, die Motivation des Künstlers und die Auswahl und symbolische Ebene der Materialien festgehalten. Auch findet sich gegen Ende eine Zusammenfassung der Geschichte des Schiffes. Viele Fotografien vervollständigen den Einblick, den man in dieses einzigartige Werk Erhält.
Die Wanderausstellung soll alle Häfen anlaufen, welche die America in ihrer Karriere angesteuert hat.
Marine Engineering and Shipping Review vom August 1940

Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen. Diese im Monat der ersten Kreuzfahrt der America erschienene Sonderausgabe einer Fachzeitschrift für Marine-Ingenieure und Werften beschäftigt sich auf über 100 Seiten eingehend mit dem neuen Schiff. Zahlreiche technische Details, Pläne, Diagramme und Abbildungen bilden hauptsächlich die technische Seite der America, aber auch ihre Innenarchitektur ab. Zahllose Werbeanzeigen von Zulieferern zeigen die enorme Bandbreite von Firmen und somit Arbeitskräften, welche an der Entstehung der America beteiligt waren, jeder Betrieb stolz auf seinen Innovativen Beitrag zum Gesamtwerk. Diese Zeitschrift ist etwas für America- Interessierte mit Detailverliebtheit. Sie gibt ein umfassendes Bild über die Komplexizität die in einem Passagierschiff steckt und setzt an einigen stellen technisches Wissen vorraus, um den Erleuterungen folgen zu können. Neben dieser Zeitschrift finden sich ähnliche (teilweise Identische) Dokumentationen auch in anderen Fachzeitschriften des Jahres wieder, darunter: "Marine News", "The Nautical Gazette" und "The Shipbuilder and Marine Engine- Builder".
Zurück zur Übersicht -->
Werbung:
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: