Main Galley
A-Deck
Tour aboard America
Also, the number of necessary food for the whole table place settings participated in huge dimensions. The cutlery range which is designed for the United States Lines "Manhattan ornamental pattern" consisted of a total of 28,000 parts including 2640 dessert knife, 3840 cake forks, 2340 soup spoon, 120 lobster forks, 200 oyster forks, 120 silver fruit baskets and 200 sugar tongs.

When washing the required amounts were similar: around 3000 dinner plates, soup plates 1800, 3600, dessert plates, fish plates and 700 Teetablets 1800 meant a lot of work for the dishwasher.

The napkins and tablecloth range even had a total 81,200 pieces, all designed specifically for the ship and hergestellt.Unter them Teeservietten 600, 2450 cocktail napkins, tablecloths 9500, 3600 and 720 Tablettdeckchen .
more info:

Prepare and cook food took on  huge dimensions aboard America. About 6000 meals a day for passengers and crew were prepared. This was ensured by two large galleys: One on the A-deck for first and second class passengers amidships between the two dining rooms and another on B Deck for third class passengers and crew.
The two kitchens were almost completely electric. 19 all-electric commercial kitchen stoves, four large electric griddles for Fried, 3 vertical rotating grill with heating elements on two sides for meat and chicken, plus countless bread makers, coffee grinders, Teigmixer, waffle irons, and egg cooker made for an efficient process in this time ultra modern kitchen landscape. Even semi-automatic dishwasher came to the America already used. All work surfaces, and shelves have stainless steel surfaces for hygiene reasons, such as they are today common in any large modern kitchen.

A Außnahme in the all-electric galley formed the large charcoal grill for steaks and fish in the grill room of the first and second class galley. For the special taste and cooks were shipping on this grill with hickory coal firing.

For serving specific foods such as crepe suzette flambé there were two that were pushed into the dining room.

To be able to imagine the capacity of the galleys better following numbers to two daily required food on board are very clear: Theoretically, 200 to 360 loaves of bread and apple pie be baked at once. Plus 60 loaves of bread and apple pie were 36 extra if you einrechnete all spare capacity.

Many had their own food preparation area in the galley. Had a vegetable, such as coffee. Lobster and oysters even had its own bar

The freezing capacity of America was 1172 cubic meters. This corresponds roughly to the typical truck load volume of 11 40-ton trucks. Then there were again about 1000 cubic meters of cold rooms with temperatures above the Gefierpunkts. The temperatures of the cooling and freezing rooms ranged from -13.3 ° C to + 10 ° C, because many foods need different high temperatures. Cheese takes a different temperature than champagne and potatoes other than meat. Therefore, there is on board many different rooms with individual temperatures for various foods.
The ice machine of America was able to produce 900 kg of ice in 24 hours.
Slightly different dimensions than on the back of a refrigerator: the 75 hp electric motor driven compressors for refrigerated cargo space of America.
Links: Manhattan pattern of the silverware. Right: typical dish with star ornaments.
advertisement:
Left: Charger plates decorated the tables of the dining rooms before the actual meals were served.
-Picture: Courtesy of Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Navigation

1. Class
Smokingroom | Lounge | Dining Room | Cocktailbar  | Ball Room  |  Swimmingpool  |  Gymnasium |  Library  |  Shop |  Children Playroom  |  Open Decks  |  Enclosed Promenade Deck  |  Kennels  |  Ducksuite  |  Cabin de Luxe  |  Interior Cabin S-25  |  Interior Cabin M-43  |  Exterior Cabin S-2 | Exterior Cabin M-41  |  Exterior Cabin U-59

2. Class
Smoking Room  |  Lounge  |  Dining Room  |  Swimmingpool  |  Gymnasium  |  Library  |  Children Playroom  |  Open Decks  |  Interior Cabins  |  Exterior Cabins  |  Enclosed Promenade Deck

3. Class
Smoking Room  |  Lounge  |  Dining Room  |  Children Playroom  |  Interior Cabins w. Bathroom  |  Exterior Cabins w. Bathroom  |  Exterior Cabins w.o. Bathroom

Technical  Areas/ Crew
Bridge  |  Engine Room  |  Boiler Rooms  |  Steering Gear/ Rudder  |  Galley  |  Radio Room  |  Cargo Holds
German version:

Kombüse
A-Deck
Tour an Bord der America
Auch die Anzahl der für die ganzen Speisen nötigen Tischgedecke nahm riesige Dimensionen an. Das Bestecksortiment mit dem für die United States Lines konzipierten "Manhattan- Ziermuster" bestand aus insgesamt 28.000 Teilen darunter 2640 Dessertmesser, 3840 Kuchengabeln, 2340 Suppenlöffel, 120 Hummergabeln, 200 Austerngabeln, 120 silberne Obstkörbe und 200 Zuckerzangen.

Beim Geschirr waren die benötigten Mengen ähnlich: Rund 3000 Essteller, 1800 Suppenteller, 3600 Dessertteller, 1800 Fischplatten und 700 Teetablets bedeuteten eine Menge Arbeit für die Geschirrspüler.

Das Servierten- und Tischtuchsortiment hatte insgesamt sogar 81.200 Teile, auch alle speziell für das Schiff designt und hergestellt.Unter ihnen 600 Teeservietten, 2450 Cocktailservietten, 9500 Tischdecken, 3600 Tablettdeckchen sowie 720 Zierdecken.
weitere Infos:

Kochen und Essen zubereiten nahm auf der America riesige Dimensionen an. Im Schnitt mussten 6000 Mahlzeiten am Tag für Passagiere und Besatzung zubereitet werden. Dafür sorgten zwei große Kombüsen: Eine auf dem A-Deck für erste und zweite Klasse Passagiere, mittschiffs zwischen den beiden Speisesälen und eine weitere auf dem B-Deck für dritte Klasse Passagiere und Besatzung.
Die beiden Großküchen waren fast komplett elektrisch. 19 vollelektrische Großküchenherde, 4 elektrische Großgrillplatten für Fritiertes, 3 vertikale Rotationsgrills mit Heizelementen von zwei Seiten für Fleisch und Hähnchen, dazu unzählige Brotbackautomaten, Kaffeemühlen, Teigmixer, Waffeleisen, und Eierkocher sorgten für einen effizienten Ablauf in dieser damals ultramodernen Küchenlandschaft. Sogar halbautomatische Geschirrspüler kamen auf der America schon zum Einsatz. Alle Arbeitsflächen, Regale und Ablagen hatten aus hygienischen Gründen Edelstahloberflächen, wie sie heute in jeder modernen Großküche üblich sind.

Eine Außnahme in der voll elektrischen Kombüse bildete der große Holzkohlegrill für Steaks und Fisch im Grillraum der ersten und zweiten Klasse Kombüse. Für den speziellen Geschmack bestanden Reederei und Köche auf diesem Grill mit Hickory- Kohlenfeuerung.

Für das Servieren besonderer Speisen wie Crêpe Suzette gab es zwei Flambierwagen, die in den Speisesaal geschoben wurden.

Um sich die Kapazitäten der Kombüsen besser vorstellen zu können sind folgende Zahlen zu zwei täglich an Bord benötigten Lebensmitteln sehr anschaulich: Theoretisch konnten 200 Apfelkuchen und 360 Brotlaibe auf einmal gebacken werden. Dazu kamen noch 60 Brotlaibe und 36 Apfelkuchen extra, wenn man alle Ersatzkapazitäten einrechnete.

Viele Lebensmittel hatten ihren eigenen Zubereitungsraum innerhalb der Kombüsen. Gemüse hatte einen, genauso wie Kaffee. Hummer und Austern hatten sogar eine eigene Bar.

Die Tiefkühlkapazität der America lag bei 1172 Kubikmetern. Das entspricht etwa dem Ladevolumen von 11 typischen LKW 40-Tonnern. Dazu kamen nochmal ca. 1000 Kubikmeter Kühlräume mit Temperaturen oberhalb des Gefierpunkts. Die Temperaturen der Kühl- und Gefrierräume reichten dabei von -13,3 °C bis + 10 °C, da viele Lebensmittel unterschiedlich hohe Temperaturen benötigten. Käse braucht eine andere Temperatur als Champagner und Kartoffeln eine andere als Fleisch. Deswegen gibt es an Bord viele unterschiedliche Räume mit individuellen Temperaturen für verschiedene Lebensmittel.
Die Eismaschine der America war fähig innerhalb von 24 Stunden 900 kg Eis zu produzieren.
Etwas andere Dimensionen als auf der Rückseite eines Kühlschranks: Die von 75 PS starken Elektromotoren angetriebenen Kompressoren der Kühlräume der America.
Links: Manhattan- Muster des Bestecks. Rechts: typischer Teller mit Sternenverzierung.
Navigation

1. Klasse
Rauchsalon | Lounge | Restaurant | Cocktailbar  | Ballsaal  |  Swimmingpool  |  Fitnessraum |  Bibliothek  |  Shop |  Kinderspieldeck  |   Außendecks  |  geschlossenes Promenadendeck  |  Hundeboxen  |  Ducksuite  |  Cabin de Luxe  |  Innenkabine S-25  |  Innenkabine M-43  |  Außenkabine S-2 | Außenkabine M-41  |  Außenkabine U-59

2. Klasse
Rauchsalon  |  Lounge  |  Restaurant  |  Swimmingpool  |  Fitnessraum  |  Bibliothek  |  Kinderspielraum  |  Außendecks  |  Innenkabinen  |  Außenkabinen  | geschlossenes Promenadendeck

3. Klasse
Rauchsalon  |  Lounge  |  Restaurant  |  Kinderspielraum  |  Innenkabinen m. Bad  |  Außenkabinen m. Bad  |  Außenkabinen o. Bad

technische Bereiche
Brücke  |  Maschinenraum  |  Kesselräume  |  Ruderanlage  |  Kombüse  |  Funkraum  |  Laderäume
Werbung:
Links: Platzteller, der vor dem eigentlichen servieren die Tische der Speisesäle an Bord schmückte.
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: