S.S. America vs. S.S. United States -A brief comparison
At first glance, the two ships up to their enormous size difference looked quite similar. The architectural analogy of the United States of America in the ship design and interior design is unmistakable. The two sampan chimneys, the structurally protruding promenade deck with floor length panoramic windows, streamlined bridge with the underlying curved decks of the superstructure, the cruiser stern, the arrangement of the masts, the arrangement of the deck, and the position of the lifeboats leave no doubt as to the origin of designs.
Also inside the vessels were found in common:
America (left) and United States off the coast of New York.
Back to overview page -->
At second glance, however, a different picture emerges. The two liners were neither identical nor had almost similar features.

In many technical details of the United States of America was clearly superior (see table below). Through the experience you had with America, you could benefit from this knowledge, the construction of the United States. The most visible example were probably the two oversized chimneys of the United States, which were designed to avoid appearing at the America soot on deck from the beginning. Also designed for maximum speed and kept in the 50s and 60s as a state secret underwater hull shape including four screw drive was not comparable to that of America. Especially the extra long and narrow tapered nose of the United States differed markedly from the rather short and easy braking of America.
Another distinctive feature of the two ships is their political significance.
The America was never designed with the intention to be the fastest liner in the world to compete for the blue ribbon and it was not designed to outperform rival ships of other nations in size or splendor. It was an economic response to the growing demand of American passengers on liners to cross the Atlantic, where they could feel of the decor and the decor was like at home, as well as an economic policy measure job security and future investment in times of crisis. Their representative function was primarily directed inward (to the United States and the political and economic context of their times. (See also Construction, Page 1).
The United States, however, was built to compete with the superlatives of the ships of other nations and to exceed them. The United States as a new post-war superpower needed a symbol of their strength. The economic idea was clearly behind prestige, reputation and interests of military power.

And exactly hierdrin was also the biggest problem of the United States: With astronomical 850 tons of fuel consumption during the day and personal-and-maintenance machines, which were actually designed for aircraft carrier, it was not economical to operate outside of massive government subsidies. So their service ended after only 17 years in 1969, as opposed to the 39 years of America, which in 1979 carried the last time paying guests. Although ended the period as a transatlantic liner of America in 1964, five years earlier than those of the United States, however, was able to adapt to the conditions better America with a new role as a cruise ship and intercontinental liner. Here, the United States, however, their superlatives were just in the way. An economic reconstruction of the ship, or even a sale to foreign shipping companies, was impossible due to its constant availability as a possible troop carrier and the confidentiality of their underwater hull, if at all, an investor would have found the opened an appropriate market outside the transatlantic service for such a large ship would.
Both first class dining rooms share a two decks high center part.
AMERICA:
UNITED STATES:
Both ballrooms share domes, glass topped tables and circular dance floors.
Even within the two ships were on closer inspection, despite some architectural and decorative similarities shown above, significant differences, although the same team of architects and interior designers the same team as when America was responsible for the United States.

The interior of the United States was very much kept minimalist than those of America and thus deals with the general trend of the 50s and the post-war era. What else seemed comfortable in America, with the United States was marked by much looser compromise functionality.
When designing the interior of the United States, the restrictions also were clearly due to their extremely highly rated second function as a troop transport. Within 48 hours she had to be convertible to military use. That meant little and easy to remove decoration, general purpose floor, as no two storey rooms, as few windows and open spaces, easily accessible technical installations. The America was likewise designed in collaboration with the Navy for possible use as a troop transport, however. Rather than equivalent dual use concept, but as a possible exception Thus, the architect William Francis Gibbs team had to fight for her with far less strategic military restrictions, as the construction of the United States.
America (right) and United States on their pier in New York.

S.S. America

S.S. United States

Length:

Breadth:

Year of commissioning:

Service speed:

Maximum speed:

interm. maximum speed:






Fuel consumption at cruising speed:

Range at cruising speed with full tanks:

Persons on board:


In service:

Propellers:

Lifeboats:

Survey:

flooding stability:

Loss of the Interior:

gutting of the ship:


Total passengers transported:

Total distance traveled:
220,4 meters

28,5 meters

1940

22,5-23 knots at 34.000 hp

24,5 knots at 38.000 hp

25,3 knosts at 42.000 hp






256 tons per day


12.000 nautical miles


1800 (1000 passengers, 800 crew), later 3000 (2200 pass., 800 crew)

August 1940 - August 1979 (39 years)

2

16, later 18

33.532 BRT

three compartment standard

post 1994

post 1994 at Fuerteventura by locals


~1,300,000

5.000.000 nautical miles
301,8 meters

31 meters

1952

30 knots at 130.000 hp

38 knots at 240.000 hp

(allegedly more than 40 knots but this would require a propulsion power of completely inefficient 350,000 hp according to the speed curve diagram of the ship. Furthermore the ships speed is limited by its hull speed.)

860 tons per day


10.000 nautical miles


3000 (2000 Passagiere, 1000 Crew)


Juni 1952 - November 1969 (17 years)

4

24

53.330 BRT

four compartment standard

1984 at auction

1992 at a shipyard in Sevastopol, Ukraine


1,025,700

2.800,000 nautical miles
In addition, the shipbuilding industry had generally evolved significantly since the construction of the 30 end of America. The hull of the beginning of the 50 United States is built welded, riveted while that was the America, what speed gains meant by a smoother surface of the hull of the United States. Parts of the superstructure and non-load bearing internal structures of the United States are made ??of aluminum, whereas was used in the construction of America almost exclusively steel. This difference was reflected mainly in weight and therefore also in the speed and position in the water.
The hull lines of United States and America just below the water line in a direct comparison (bow to the right). Both ships are here scaled to the same size to make more evident the difference. In proportion to her length, the United States is much slimmer than the America. Although the ship is nearly 1/3 longer than the America, it's just over 2.5 meters (~8 feet) wider. The lines in the bow area are far less concave than those of America and provide optimal waterflow at high speeds.
America and United States at Newport News.
America (below) and United States pass each other in the Hudson River.
advertisement:
Also was concerned that the safety techniques and concepts is an other been the early 50s, as the end of the 30s the highest possible standard achievable. But as far as the safety of Signalcharkter inovations, the America is still the ship, which nudged the standard for the subsequent decades in the Ocean Liners and defined. Above this standard was the United States but a signal character was from, whatever it was sure that was not mass Suitable for the military strongly influenced concept of the ship.

Thus, the United States is in many areas to understand as a ship with other objectives, as a advancement of the America and as a sign of a different era and despite many similarities actually a completely different ship.
America at night in Newport News in 1951. In the background you can see the unfinsihed SS United States.
-Picture: photographed by Marcus Ritger Jr.- courtesy of Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated atm.

America und United States- Die beiden "atlantic greyhounds" im Vergleich
Auf den ersten Blick sahen sich die beiden Schiffe bis auf ihren enormen Größenunterschied recht ähnlich. Die architektonische Anlehnung der United States an die America in Schiffsdesign und Innenausstattung ist unverkennbar. Die zwei Sampan- Schornsteine, das baulich hervorstehende Promenadendeck mit bodenlangen Panoramafenstern, die stromlinienförmige Brücke mit den darunterliegenden abgerundeten Decks der Aufbauten, das Kreuzerheck, die Anordnung der Masten, die Anordnung der Decks, sowie die Position der Rettungsboote lassen keinen Zweifel an der Herkunft des Designs.
Auch im Inneren der Schiffe fand man Gemeinsamkeiten:

Die America (links) und die United States vor der Küste New Yorks.
Zurück zur Übersicht -->
Auf den zweiten Blick ergibt sich jedoch ein anderes Bild. Die beiden Liner waren weder baugleich, noch hatten sie annähernd ähnliche Leistungsmerkmale.

In vielen technischen Einzelheiten war die United States der America deutlich überlegen (siehe auch Tabelle weiter unten). Durch die Erfahrungen die man mit der America gemacht hatte, konnte man beim Bau der United States von diesen Erkenntnissen profitieren. Sichtbarstes Beispiel waren wohl die beiden übergroßen Schornsteine der United States, mit denen man die bei der America auftretenden Rußablagerungen an Deck von Anfang an vermeiden wollte. Auch die auf maximale Geschwindigkeit ausgelegte und in den 50ern und 60ern wie ein Staatsgeheimnis gehütete Unterwasser- Rumpfform inklusive vier Schrauben Antrieb war nicht mit jener der America zu vergleichen. Besonders der extra lange und schmal zulaufende Bug der United States unterschied sich deutlich vom eher kurzen und leicht bremsenden der America.
Ein weiteres wichtigstes Unterscheidungsmerkmal der beiden Schiffe ist ihre politische Bedeutung.
Die America wurde nie mit der Absicht konstruiert, der schnellste Liner der Welt zu sein und um das blaue Band zu wetteifern und sie war auch nicht darauf ausgelegt, rivalisierende Schiffe anderer Nationen in Größe oder  Prunk zu übertreffen. Sie war eine ökonomische Antwort auf die wachsende Nachfrage amerikanischer Passagiere auf Linern den Atlantik zu überqueren, auf denen sie sich von der Ausstattung und der Einrichtung her wie zu Hause fühlen konnten, sowie eine wirtschaftspolitische Arbeitsplatzsicherungsmaßnahme und Zukunftsinvestition in Krisenzeiten. Ihre repräsentative Funktion war so vor allem nach innen gerichtet (auf die USA und den politischen und wirtschaftlichen Kontext ihrer Entstehungszeit. (siehe dazu auch Bau, Seite1- Entstehungshintergrund).
Die United States hingegen wurde gebaut, um mit den Superlativen der Schiffe anderer Nationen zu wetteifern und sie zu übertreffen. Die USA als neue Nachkriegssupermacht brauchten ein Symbol ihrer Stärke. Der ökonomische Gedanke stand klar hinter Prestige, Ansehen und auch militärischen  Machtinteressen zurück.

Und genau hierdrin lag auch das größte Problem der United States: Mit astronomischen 850 Tonnen Treibstoffverbrauch am Tag und personal- und wartungsintensiven Maschinen, welche eigentlich für Flugzeugträger konzipiert waren, war sie außerhalb von massiven staatlichen Subventionen nicht wirtschaftlich zu betreiben. So endete ihre Dienstzeit nach nur 17 Jahren 1969, im Gegensatz zu den 39 Jahren der America, welche 1979 zum letzten mal zahlende Gäste beförderte. Zwar endete die Zeit als Transatlantikliner der America bereits 1964, also fünf Jahre früher als jene der United States, jedoch konnte sich die America mit einer neuen Rolle als Kreuzfahrtschiff und Interkontinentalliner den Gegebenheiten besser anpassen. Hierbei standen der United States hingegen gerade ihre Superlative im Weg. Ein wirtschaftlicher Umbau des Schiffes, oder auch ein Verkauf an ausländische Reedereien, war aufgrund ihrer ständigen Verfügbarkeit als möglicher Truppentransporter und der Geheimhaltung ihres Unterwasserrumpfes unmöglich, sofern sich überhaupt ein Investor gefunden hätte, der für ein so großes Schiff einen geeigneten Markt außerhalb des Transatlantikdienstes aufgetan hätte.
Zwei Decks hoher Mittelbereich der Speisesäle
AMERICA:
UNITED STATES:
Die Ballsäle mit Kuppeln,Glastischsitzgruppen und vorgetäuschtem runden Raumgrundriss.
Auch im Inneren der beiden Schiffe gab es bei genauerer Betrachtung trotz einiger oben gezeigten architektonischen und dekorativen Gemeinsamkeiten deutliche Unterschiede, obwohl das gleiche Architektenteam und das gleiche Innenausstatterteam wie bei der America für die United States verantwortlich war.

Die Inneneinrichtung der United States war sehr viel minimalistischer gehalten als jene der America und geht somit auf den Trend der 50er Jahre und allgemein der Nachkriegsepoche ein. Was bei der America noch gemütlich wirkte, war bei der United States bestimmt von wesentlich kompromissloserer Funktionalität.
Bei der Innenarchitektur der United States wurden zudem die Einschränkungen durch ihre extrem hoch bewertete zweite Funktion als Truppentransporter überdeutlich. Innerhalb von 48 Stunden musste sie für den Militäreinsatz umbaubar sein. Das bedeutete wenig und leicht zu entfernende Dekoration, Allzweckboden, möglichst keine zweistöckigen Räume, möglichst wenig Fenster und offene Flächen, einfach zugängliche technische Installationen. Die America war zwar ebenfalls in Zusammenarbeit mit der Marine für eine mögliche Verwendung als Truppentransporter konzipiert worden, jedoch nicht als gleichwertiges Doppelnutzungskonzept, sondern als möglicher Ausnahmefall. So hatte das Architektenteam um William Francis Gibbs bei ihr mit weitaus weniger militärstrategischen Einschränkungen zu kämpfen, als beim Bau der United States.
Die America (rechts) und die United States an ihrem Pier in New York.

S.S. America

S.S. United States

Länge:

max. Breite:

Jahr der Indienststellung:

Dienstgeschwindigkeit:

Höchstgeschwindigkeit:

kurzz. Maximalgeschwindigkeit:



Treibstoffverbrauch bei Dienstgeschwindigkeit:

Reichweite bei Dienstgeschwindigkeit mit vollen Tanks:

Personen an Bord:


Dienstzeit:

Schiffsschrauben:

Rettungsboote:

Vermessung:

Stabilität bei Flutung:

Verlust der Innenausstattung:

Entkernung des Schiffes:


Insgesamt transportierte Passagiere:

Insgesamt gefahrene Strecke:
220,4 Meter

28,5 Meter

1940

22,5-23 Knoten bei 34.000PS

24,5 Knoten bei 38.000PS

25,3 Knoten bei 42.000PS




256 Tonnen am Tag


12.000 Seemeilen



1800 (1000 Passagiere, 800 Crew), später 3000 (2200 Pass., 800 Crew)

August 1940- August 1979 (39 Jahre)

2

16, später 18

33.532 BRT

Drei- Abteilungs-Standard

nach Strandung 1994

quasi nach 1994 durch einheimische auf Fuerteventura

~1.300.000


5.000.000 Seemeilen
301,8 Meter

31 Meter

1952

30 Knoten bei 130.000PS

38 Knoten bei 240.000PS

(angeblich über 40 Knoten, dazu müsste die Maschinenleistung aber  laut Leistungskurve auf äußerst ineffiziente 350.000PS steigen)

860 Tonnen am Tag


10.000 Seemeilen



3000 (2000 Passagiere, 1000 Crew)


Juni 1952- November 1969 (17 Jahre)

4

24

53.330 BRT

Vier- Abteilungs- Standard

1984 auf Auktion

1992 durch Werft in Sevastopol, Ukraine


1.025.700


2.800,000 Seemeilen
Zusätzlich hatte sich der Schiffsbau allgemein seit der Konstruktion der America Ende der 30er deutlich weiterentwickelt. Der Rumpf der Anfang der 50er gebauten United States ist geschweißt, während jener der America genietet war, was Geschwindigkeitsgewinne durch eine ebenere Oberfläche des Rumpfes der United States bedeutete. Teile der Aufbauten und nicht tragenden inneren Strukturen der United States sind aus Aluminium gefertigt, wohingegen beim Bau der America fast ausschließlich Stahl zum Einsatz kam. Dieser Unterschied machte sich vor allem im Gewicht und somit auch in der Geschwindigkeit und Wasserlage bemerkbar.

Die Rumpflinien der America und der United States knapp unterhalb der Wasserlinie im direkten Vergleich (Bug nach rechts). Beide Schiffe sind hier auf die gleiche Größe skaliert um den Unterschied noch deutlicher zu machen. Im Verhältnis zu ihrer Länge ist die United States viel schlanker als die America. Das Schiff ist, obwohl fast 1/3 länger als die America, nur gut 2,5 Meter breiter. Die Linienführung im Bugbereich ist weit weniger konkav als jene der America und bietet eine optimale Umströmung des Wassers auch bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten.
America und United States (unten) in Newport News.
America (unten) und United States kreuzen ihre Wege am Anfang bzw. Ende ihrer Reise im Hudson vor der Kulisse Manhattans.
Werbung:
Auch was die Sicherheitstechniken und Konzepte anging ist der höchstmöglich erreichbare Standard Anfang der 50er eine anderer gewesen, als Ende der 30er. Was aber den Signalcharkter von Sicherheitsinovationen angeht, so ist die America bis heute das Schiff, welches den Standard für die nachfolgenden Jahrzehnte in der Passagierschiffahrt anstieß und definierte. Über diesem Standard lag zwar die United States, bei der sogar überlegt wurde die Konzertflügel wegen Feuergefahr aus Aluminium zu bauen, aber ein Signalcharakter blieb aus, was sicher auch daran lag, das das militärisch stark beeinflusste Konzept des Schiffes nicht Massentauglich war.

So ist die United States in vielen Bereichen als Schiff mit anderen Zielsetzungen, als Weiterentwicklung der America und als Zeichen einer anderen Epoche  zu verstehen und trotz vieler Gemeinsamkeiten eigentlich ein ganz anderes Schiff.
America und die im Bau befindliche United States (im Hintergrund)1951 in Newport News.
-Bild: fotografiert von Marcus Ritger Jr- Vielen Dank an Bill Lee.-
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: