Der Bau der America
On August 31 1939, after repeated postponement, the most important moment of America's construction took place: The launching. More than 30,000 invited guests watched the spectacle and numerous reporters and film teams perpetuated this unforgettable moment. There were specially for this special day established stages for the speakers, guests of honour and reporters. The to be christened America was decorated with banners and flags and reflected the mood and expectations which many of the guests had in the America as a symbol of national pride.
The ship's christening was the job of none less than the first lady of the United States, Eleanor Roosevelt, who was the godmother of the ship.
Page 2: From launching to delivery
Then,  10 minutes before noon, Mrs. Roosevelt christened the hull number 369 of the Newport News shipyard and hull number one of the Maritime Comission building program to the name America. The champagne bottle splashed on the bow, Mrs. Roosevelt did a few steps back and nearly 17,000 tons of imposing ship slid down the slipway on 24 tons of lubricant at first slowly and then faster and faster towards the James River.
President Roosevelt called the launching of America "one of the most important events of 1939", which, however, almost immediately degenerated into a petty little thing, when just hours after the successful launch the Second World War started with the German invasion of Poland.
This also had an immediate impact on the construction of the ship: The rapidly escalating war in Europe would render the use as a transatlantic liner impossible.
After some consideration it was decided to complete the half-finished ship hoping for a quick normalization of the global political events.
While the Navy had already influenced the design of the ship to be able to use it for military purposes, this influence was now even stronger imposed during the further completion of the vessel. Some decks for example were specially reinforced for the possible installation of anti-aircraft guns.

In May 1940, the America was finally completed after 680 days of construction.
Workers remove wooden buttresses prior to launching of America.
-Picture: Universal Newsreel-
In early June the  trials of the new ship were scheduled to take place. The results were satisfactory in almost all specifications: Good maneuverability, excellent stability and satisfying acceleration were the assets of the new ship.
But there were also some results that differt from the expected performance: The construction of funnels proved to be inadequate for satisfactory keeping soot and oil residues from the rear decks. To minimize this problem, the funnels have have simply been increased by 5 meters (15 feet) in height.
America brightly lit with raised funnels immediately before her delivery to the United States Lines (colorized).
-Picture: National Archives and Records-
Height comparison: Mouseover for night shot of pre-trials America with low funnels.
-Picture: courtesy of Bill Lee-
Workers wedge up the bow cradle to prepare America for her way down the slipway.
-Picture: Universal Newsreel-
The exterior design of America was very advanced for its time and was based on streamlined structures. The bridge wings were slightly swept back and marked the completion of the underlying curved and semicircular superstructure. The hull was characterized by a raked bow and ended in a rounded cruiser stern. The funnels perfected the streamlined design with their tear-drop-shaped cross-section and their sampan top fins.
On July 2nd 1940, the America was delivered to the United States Lines. The total construction cost was $ 17.5 million, the displacement was 35,440 tons with a length of 220.2 meters (723 feet) and a maximum width of 28.4 meters (93 feet). Over 1200 companies were involved in the construction of the ship with a peak of 2.500 people working on the ship and virtually every state in the United States contrituted in it's construction.
Cheered by thousands, the America slides towards the James River.
top left: America's hull immediately before the chistening.
top: scenery before the launching.
left: The champagne bottle shatters on the bow.
right: Eleanor Roosevelt (center) poses for photographers.
-Pictures: Universal Newsreel stills-
Oben: Der Bug im Moment der Taufe.
Unten: Heckansicht des Stapellaufs.
Final details before the launching: A worker paints water level markings on the bow.
-Image: Universal newsreel-
America's aft (real) funnel on the crane.
-Picture: Newport News 50 years of shipbuilding magazine-
Workers Leaving the America for a change of shift.
-Picture: Universal Newsreel-
America at night with original funnel height in Newport News (colorized).
-Picture: The Tihen Notes Newspaper-
Content

Next Chapter: SS America 1940-1941 -->
further reading:
America seen from the assembly crane moored in Newport News.
-Pictures: United States Lines-
Delivery contract signing on July 2nd 1940 at 15.10 clock. From left to right: P.V.G. Mitchell (Vice Pres. USLines), J.B. Woodward (Jr. Gen. Manager Newp. News Shipyard), G.C. Stedman (Master S.S. America) und J.P. Gallagher (vice chief of construction US Maritime Comission).
America after her sucessful launch in the James River on her way to the outfitting pier, assisted by tugs.
-Picture: press photo-
America docked on the outfitting pier in winter 39/40 with newly fitted forward dummy funnel.
-Picture: Newport News SB-
advertisement:
Invitation card for the launching ceremony.
-Picture: Courtesy of Bill Lee-
left: Press pass for journalists invited to the launching of Howard E. Lee, Sr. He was longtime editor of Newport News' local newspaper "Daily Press".
- courtesy of Bill Lee.-
America at the outfitting pier with white-painted superstructure and assembled (short) funnels.
America at the outfitting pier shortly before her trials.
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Contact | Site Map | technical problems
advertisement:
Construction 1938-1940

German version:
Please Note: Text on this page is only electronically translated.
This will be replaced by a better translation as time allows.

Der Bau der America
Am 31 August 1939, nach mehrmaliger Terminverschiebung, war es dann nach gut einjähriger Bauzeit soweit: Der Stapellauf. Über 30.000 geladene Gäste verfolgten das Spektakel und zahlreiche Reporter und Filmteams verewigten diesen denkwürdigen Moment. Es gab extra für diesen Festtag errichtete Bühnen für die Redner, Ehrengäste und Reporter, auf der zu taufenden America wehten Festtagsbanner und die Stimmung spiegelte die Erwartungen wieder, die viele der Gäste in die America als Symbol des nationalen Stolzes hatten.
Die Schiffstaufe war die Aufgabe von keiner geringeren als der First Lady der USA, Eleanor Roosevelt, welche Patin des Schiffes war. Während sie und die für den Bau, die Werft und die Reederei verantwortlichen feierliche Reden hielten, entfernten Arbeiter die letzten den Rumpf stützenden Baumstämme und Holzblöcke.

Seite 2: Vom Stapellauf bis zur Auslieferung
Dann, um kurz vor 12 Uhr mittags, taufte Mrs. Roosevelt den Rumpf Nummer 369 der Newport News Werft und Nummer 1 des Maritime Comission Bauprogramms auf den Namen America. Die Champagnerflasche zersprang am Bug, Mrs. Roosevelt wich ein paar Schritte zurück und der Rumpf glitt auf Tonnen von Schmiermittel zunächst langsam und dann immer schneller imposant in Richtung James River.
Präsident Roosevelt nannte den Stapellauf der America eines der wichtigsten Ereignisse des Jahres 1939, was jedoch fast unverzüglich zu einer unbedeutenden Kleinigkeit verkam, als nur wenige Stunden nach dem erfolgreichen Stapellauf der Zweite Weltkrieg mit der deutschen Invasion Polens ausbrach.
Auch das Bauprojekt der America kam so unvorhergesehen in Bedrängnis. Der schnell eskalierende Krieg in Europa würde einen Einsatz als Transatlantikliner unmöglich machen.
Nach einigen Überlegungen entschied man sich das halbfertige Schiff zu vollenden und hoffte auf eine baldige Entspannung der weltpolitischen Geschehnisse.
Nachdem die Marine auch schon auf die Planung des Schiffes Einfluss genommen hatte, (schließlich war der Staat über die Maritime Commission zu einem nicht unerheblichen Teil Geldgeber) um es auch für militärische Zwecke einsetzen zu können, wurde während der weiteren Fertigstellung nun noch stärker auch dieser Aspekt berücksichtigt. So wurden z.B. einige Decks speziell für die mögliche Montage von Abwehrgeschützen verstärkt.

Im Mai 1940 war die America dann nach gut zwei Jahren Bauzeit fertiggestellt.

Arbeiter entfernen abstützende Baumstämme unmittelbar vor dem Stapellauf der America.
-Bilder: Universal Newsreel-
Nun standen Anfang Juni die Testfahrten mit dem Schiff auf dem Programm. Die Ergebnisse waren in fast allen Bereichen zufriedenstellend. Gute Manövrierfähigkeit, Wasserlage und Beschleunigung zeichneten das neue Schiff aus.
Es gab aber auch von der Planung abweichende Ergebnisse, wie die Konstruktion der Schornsteine, welche sich als unzureichend erwies, Ruß- und Schwerölrückstände zufriedenstellend von den oberen hinteren Decks fernzuhalten. Um das Problem der Ablagerungen an Deck zu minimieren, wurden die Schornsteine nachträglich um 5 Meter erhöht.
America hell erleuchtet mit erhöhten Schornsteinen unmittelbar vor ihrer Übergabe an die United States Lines (nachcoloriert).
-Bild: National Archives and Records-
ZUM HÖHENVERGLEICH: Mouseover für Nachtaufnahme der America in früherer Konstruktionsphase mit niedrigen Schornsteinen.
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee-
Gewichtsausgleichende Blöcke werden gelöst.
-Bild: Universal Newsreel-
Das äußere Design der America war für seine Zeit sehr fortschrittlich und orientierte sich an stromlinienförmigen Strukturen. Die seitlichen Flügel der Brücke waren leicht nach hinten abgewinkelt und bildeten den Abschluss der darunter liegenden geschwungenen bis halbkreisförmigen Aufbauten. Der Rumpf begann mit einem gekurvt ausfallenden Bug und endete in einem über der Wasserlinie abgerundeten  Kreuzerheck. Die Schornsteine perfektionierten das Stromliniendesign mit ihrem wassertropfenförmigen Querschnitt und ihren leitwerksartigen Flossen.
Am 2 Juli 1940 wurde die America der United States Lines übergeben. Die gesamte Konstruktion kostete 17,5 Millionen US$, die Verdrängung betrug 35.440 Tonnen bei einer Länge von 220,2 Metern und einer Maximalbreite von 28,4 Metern. Über 1200 Firmen waren am Bau des Schiffes beteiligt und praktisch jeder Bundesstaat der USA trug etwas zur America bei.
Die America gleitet bejubelt von Tausenden imposant in Richtung James River.
Oben links: Rumpf der America vor der Taufe.
Oben: Panorama vor dem Stapellauf.
Links: Die Champagnerflasche zerspringt am Bug.
rechts:  Eleanor Roosevelt (mitte) posiert für Fotografen.
-Bilder: Universal Newsreel Standbilder-
Oben: Der Bug im Moment der Taufe.
Unten: Heckansicht des Stapellaufs.
Letzte Details vor dem Stapellauf: Ein Arbeiter malt Wasserstandsmarken auf den Bug.
-Bild: Universal Newsreel-
Echter (hinterer) Schornstein der America am Kran.
-Bild: Newport News 50 years of shipbuilding Magazin-
Arbeiter verlassen die am Ausrüstungskai liegende America zu Schichtende.
-Bild: Universal Newsreel-
America mit niedrigen Schornsteinen in Newport News (nachcoloriert).
-Bild: The Tihen Notes Newspaper-
Inhalt

Bau 1938-1940

Weiter zur Story der America 1940-1941 -->
weiteres zum Thema:
Die America vor Anker in Newport News vom Montagekran aus gesehen.
-Bilder: United States Lines-
Auslieferungsvertragsunterzeichnung am 2. Juli 1940 um 15.10 Uhr. Von links nach rechts: P.V.G. Mitchell (Vize Pres. USLines), J.B. Woodward (Jr. Gen. Manager Newp. News Shipyard), G.C. Stedman (Master S.S. America) und J.P. Gallagher (stellv. Konstruktionschef US Maritime Comission).
America nach ihrem Stapellauf im James River auf dem Weg zum Ausrüstungskai.
-Bild: Pressefoto-
America am Ausrüstungskai im Winter 39/40 mit frisch montiertem vorderen Dummyschornstein.
-Bild: Newport News SB-
Werbung:
Einladungskarte für Gäste des Stapellaufs
-Bild: Vielen Dank an Bill Lee-
Links: Presseausweis für zum Stapellauf eingeladene Journalisten von Howard E. Lee, Sr. Er war langjähriger leitender Redakteur der täglich erscheinenden Newport Newser Lokalzeitung "Daily Press".
- Vielen Dank an Bill Lee.-
America am Ausrüstungskai mit weiß gestrichenen Aufbauten und ursprünglicher Schornsteinhöhe.
Die America am Ausrüstungskai kurz vor ihren Testfahrten.
© 2012-2013 ssamerica.bplaced.net | Impressum | Kontakt | Site Map | technische Probleme
Werbung:
English version here: